What's new

Benefit of adding Amplifier to a mid- to hi-end Receiver (1 Viewer)

bgnreau

Auditioning
Real Name
Bruce
Hello,

I am new to most of this and I have a question that is bugging me and I can't seem to find a good answer. I have a Pioneer Elite SC27 receiver and it has 140W/channel. My question is, why would I want to buy a 3,5 or 7 channel amp to power the speakers when, from what I've read, I have plenty of power from my receiver? What would then be the purpose of my receiver if I am not using any of its power and why should I even buy an receiver in that price range? Wouldn't it be just as feasible to downgrade the receiver and upgrade the amp?? I understand the cleaner power from the dedicated amp, I am mainly trying to understand if it is necessary to spend so much on receivers when separates might actually be a better option. I hope I am not too confusing, just looking for some answers. Thanks!

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
In many cases a surround processor with all the features that your current receiver has would cost just as much or more then your SC-27. Many people use a receiver as a pre/pro and by a separate amp (often times just 2 ch amp to power the fronts) for the cleaner power that you mentioned. For my situation, both my H/K 520 and Pioneer 59txi are plenty clean and powerful enough. But if someone gave me a good quality amp I'd sure try it out!

bgnreau

Auditioning
Real Name
Bruce
Thanks gene,

That sounds like a good reason and I too would try an amp if given to me, to see if could tell/hear the difference. But, I think I have plenty to enjoy as is and I will probably just upgrade speakers in the future and look at separates way down the road. Thanks again!

Ed Moxley

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ed