What's new

Which would you pick, Pioneer 49TXi w/47Ai or Denon 5803 w/9000 (1 Viewer)

Geo

Stunt Coordinator
Subject pretty much tells the story.....
If cost was not a concern, which of these combos would you pick? And why?

Regards,

geo

Jamey F

Stunt Coordinator
I didn't have the funds to be shopping in that store isle :D, but I would probably lean towards the 49tx. I've read the interface on the Pioneer isn't as proprietary as the Denon. This would make it more future proof. I chose the 3803 over the 45tx, so I'm not what you would call a Pioneer man. I have no experience with either receiver. I'm only going on what I've read of the features.

I agree with Ben though. If I were spending that kinda money, I would go seperates.

Dmitry

Supporting Actor
For that kind of money you'd want DVD-Audio *AND* SACD. Denon only has one. Plus, like Jamey said, Pioneer uses Firewire, which is somewhat of a standard connection. And, it's a bit cheaper (quite a bit).

Kevin C Brown

Senior HTF Member
I'd go separates too.

(I did too! :) I currently have the 47ai with the Outlaw 950 and Acurus amps, with a Lex MC-8 on the way...)

Geo

Stunt Coordinator
Thanks for all the responses so far.
However I'm not looking for alternatives. I already have a separate pre/pro, the Lexicon MC-12B, so the Outlaw isn't really a factor. Besides from my experiences, I don't think just because it's a receiver it's bad or vise versa.
What I'm looking for is a Flagship receiver with a DVD player from the same manufacture with a digital interface. SACD is not required as I have an extra player if need be.
What I'm really looking for is what you guys think is the best processing and power in one box not two or three plus more cables.

Dmitry,
Yes the Pioneer combo is quite a bit cheaper and includes SACD. Does the Denon have anything on the Pioneer?
Regards,

geo

Dmitry

Supporting Actor
Geo,