Which DVD Players can display Component AND Composite at the same time?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Chris Taplin, Mar 30, 2004.

  1. Chris Taplin

    Chris Taplin Extra

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 1998
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In my home, I need to be able to display the DVD source in my Living Room in Progressive via the Component Output AND display the DVD in another room via Composite Output.

    Which DVD Players with DVD-Audio can do this? Which ones cannot? This is the kind of info that is hard to get from reviews without first hand experience. Has anyone been able to do this with their players?

    Thanks for the reply...
     
  2. BrentPollard

    BrentPollard Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried doing this yet? I may be wrong, but I think you can do this with any player,the thing you cannot do is run the component or composite and S-Video from the same player to the same TV. If I am wrong, I 'm sure someone will correct me.[​IMG]
     
  3. RoyGBiv

    RoyGBiv Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most players will not output 480p and 480i at the same time. (In fact, I am not aware of any that will.) They usually have a switch on the front or back or somewhere in a menu item to decide which it will output. OTOH, most will output component and composite at the same time at 480i.

    SMK
     
  4. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    5,110

    Such switches typically affect only the output from the component outputs. The 480i output from the S-video and composite outputs is unaffected.

    And then there are a few players like the H1000 that have separate component outputs for 480i and 480p. Both sets are active at all times.

    M.
     
  5. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,779
    Likes Received:
    493
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    My Panny RP-91 fits the bill as well.
     
  6. Brian L

    Brian L Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 1998
    Messages:
    2,943
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    1,610


    Not always.

    The Pio 45a (which I think the original poster asked about in a different thread) kills the composite and s-vid when switched to progressive mode.

    They will all stay active only in interlaced mode.

    BGL
     
  7. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    5,110

    I didn't say "always".

    M.
     
  8. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Panasonics will output progressive via component and interlaced via S or composite simultaneously, JVC won't.
    Those are the only two brands of progressive scan player I've any experience with.
     
  9. Rick_Brown

    Rick_Brown Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I get around this by using my Integra 6.2 receiver to send out progressive and composite video.
     
  10. Chris Taplin

    Chris Taplin Extra

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 1998
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Brian,

    Have you confirmed this absolutely, positively, with a doubt? The reason I am asking is that this unit is on my A list at this time. It seems to be a pretty good unit for the price. Ulitmately I want to get one of the "best" untis, but with DVD-HD on the horizon, I thought the 45a would be a good unit in the meantime....but I need it to output both Component-Progressive and Composite.

    The reason for this is that I hook both up to my Yammy RX-V1 and send Progressive to Zone 1 and Composite to Zone 2....
     
  11. Brian L

    Brian L Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 1998
    Messages:
    2,943
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    1,610


    Not with composite, but I can confirm that s-vid shuts off.

    That said, when this came up, I did take a look in the manual, and there is a note that says the Video and S-Vid outputs will be disabled when the progressive mode is enabled.

    BGL
     

Share This Page