Universal Programmable Remotes (Touchscreen and all)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by BrooksB, Nov 4, 2002.

  1. BrooksB

    BrooksB Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello:

    This is my first post here - great site btw... I hope I am in the right place for this:

    I am researching Universal Remotes - the real nice programmable, macro-enabled, touchscreen types. Now, I would like some feedback on what brands / models are good, what are bad as well as some features to look for or to avoid.

    My A/V Receiver's remote was destroyed last night and I need to replace it. Since Onyko wants $130 for the replacement, I am going to spend the $200-$500 for a real remote now!

    I have been looking at the Sony RM-AV3000 ($200), Philips Pronto TSU-2000 ($300), ONYKO CHAD ($500) and the Harmony Remote SST-768 ($300) - any suggestions?

    Thanks,
    Brooks
     
  2. Jon Alan

    Jon Alan Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use the Pronto TSU-2000. Works great for me! Philips is coming out with a new model, TSU-3000. You may want to look into that one, as well. However, it may bring the cost down on the 2000. They should both be on the Philips.Pronto web site.

    I believe the Onkyo CHAD is the same unit as the Pronto (I may be wrong) with a slightly different chassis. IMO, it's not worth the additional cost.

    I'm not familiar with the Sony or Harmony, So I can't help you there.
     
  3. Stephen Hopkins

    Stephen Hopkins HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you're interested in the Pronto, stay away from the sony. It doesn't have a dynamic screen. It's buttons can only be one of 3 or 4 different pre-determined assignments. If you're spending that kind of money, go w/ the pronto. If you're looking to save money by going w/ a non-dynamic screen remote, go w/ the RCA RC1000B.

    Hope this helps
     
  4. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. Brian Ruth

    Brian Ruth Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  6. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    make sure you consider whether you like soft buttons, hard buttons or some combination.
    i like having hard buttons because i can feel my way around the remote without having to actually look at it.
    btw - i have the hometheater master mx-500. it replaced eight of my remotes without a single problem. my favorite feature is that you have 12 buttons that you can program and label to whatever you want. that means if your remote has some "funky" named button, the mx-500 will accept it and you can label the button appropriately.
    i love it. the review is on the website bob mentioned.
     
  7. BrooksB

    BrooksB Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks to all for the comments... I found a Philips Pronto TSU2000 on Ebay (new) for a good price and am going with that one! Can't wait to start playing with it!

    Thanks,
    Brooks Bailey
     
  8. JeremyZ

    JeremyZ Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Philips Pronto TSU-2000 and recharging station should arrive tomorrow. I purchased it from avsmarts.com. They had the best price I could find on a brand new unit. 225.95 for the remote and 36.95 for the recharging station.

    Good Luck!

    Jeremy
     
  9. Jim Lenneman

    Jim Lenneman Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2000
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Brooks,
    Head over to remotecentral.com and download the software. That way you won't have to wait to start playing[​IMG]
    Jim L
     

Share This Page