What's new

Sub/Sat speaker setup with a Yamaha RX-V1400? (1 Viewer)

MikeLievre

Auditioning
I'm very very new to HT and have been trying to absorb as much as possible from the forums but I thought I'd ask for some clarifications.

I've recently purchased the Yammy RXV1400 and the Polk RM6700/PSW303 package. Boy was I in for a surprise when I went to set it up - it seems there are more than a few options =).

As most of you probably know, Polk suggests that the best way to hook up a sub/sat setup is to hook the front outputs from the receiver to the sub's speaker inputs and then from the sub to the speakers. The front speakers on the receiver should be set to LARGE and the sub setting to off. The centre and rears are then set to SMALL.

Please let me know if I understand this correctly. This means that the full range of sound for the front channels goes to the sub and the sub does the filtering so that the mid and high range go to the speakers, and the sub handles the bass. Apparently the LFE affects don't have to go out the LFE/SUB channel and this setup works well?

On to the questions and clarifications:

Does this suggest that the sub can do a better job at filtering than the receiver?

Will I still be able to use YPAO to successfully configure my receiver with this setup?

Would I be able to get a better sound using the line out to the sub and connecting all speakers directly to the receiver with this hardware? Can I avoid the double filter issue with this hardware?

If the best setup is to follow Polk's advice, should centre and rears be set to SMALL? Where does MEDIUM come into play? What happens to the low range of the centre channel? Does it just vanish because the receiver has the sub channel set to off? Do I even need to worry about small/medium/large if YPAO does its thing?

OK, I'll stop now before I ask too much any no one wants to respond =).

Thanks for taking the time to read and share your HT words of wisom!

Mike

Wayne Ernst

Senior HTF Member