Sony 4ES EQ ??

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Bob Snelgrove, Feb 17, 2004.

  1. Bob Snelgrove

    Bob Snelgrove Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Guys

    Does anyone have 3 band eq on the surround channels? I don't and read here that the 4ES should. I have the next to latest xx.18 vs. xx.19 firmware.

    thx

    bob
     
  2. Thomas_Riel

    Thomas_Riel Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bob,
    I have the 4ES with xx.19 firmware and the surrounds have only two band EQ (bass and treble). According to page 46 of the 4ES manual this seem to be correct.

    Hope this helps......... Tom
     
  3. Bob Snelgrove

    Bob Snelgrove Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, Tom

    Do you know what the xx.19 firmware adds/fixes?

    thx

    bob
     
  4. Thomas_Riel

    Thomas_Riel Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bob,

    Sorry but I do not have a clue what the XX.19 firmware improves on. I was just happy to find out that I had the latest firmware when I decided to check it last week.

    Tom
     
  5. terence

    terence Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi guys,

    Where can i get the new XX.19 firmware?

    Thx.
     
  6. Chris Grillo

    Chris Grillo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi guys this is a link to the firmware you are looking for !
    I am not responsible for anything that this update my screw up!I have used this update my self without any issues!

    http://www.css.ap.sony.com/

    [​IMG]
     
  7. AaronBatiuk

    AaronBatiuk Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The surround and surround-back speakers have only a two band EQ. Only the front and centre speakers have the mid band. Consider yourself lucky... new STR-DAx000ES owners will find that now only the center has a mid band.
     
  8. Bob Snelgrove

    Bob Snelgrove Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am lucky. I love my new 4ES [​IMG]

    bob
     
  9. JamesCB

    JamesCB Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Too bad they are losing that feature. My V333ES has a 3-band parametric EQ for each of the five channels.

    Curious, but are the EQ's on the newer Sony's parametric or fixed?
     
  10. RolandM

    RolandM Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well they are "quasi" parametric, I'd say...

    You can change the turnover frequency for all the bands that are available, but you can only change the effect from being "WIDE" or "NARROW" on a few of the bands as I recall. I *think* the width setting is usually referred to as "Q" on a parametric equaliser (is that correct?).

    Also, Aaron, yeah it seem like they are dropping a band or two with each generation of receiver they put out [​IMG]

    Surely, however, the DA9000ES must have more bands/settings than the other DAx000ES receivers, right? Then again, it is several thousand dollars more than the others so I guess that is expected...
     
  11. JamesCB

    JamesCB Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The DA9000ES stepped down also:

    Front Speakers: bass and treble levels
    Center Speaker: bass, midrange and treble levels
    Surround/Surround Back Speakers: bass and treble levels
    Center Speaker Midrange Frequency: choose from 100Hz, 300Hz, 1kHz, 3kHz, or 10kHz

    That's just too bad. I guess we can't have everything. Even in the top model.
     
  12. terence

    terence Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Man that sucks! I'm glad i picked the 4ES up when i had the chance. I thought Sony would have kept BMT feature, oh well.
     

Share This Page