What's new
World Wide Stereo

Setup Advice Needed (1 Viewer)

Scott.Lacy

Grip
Hi everyone,

I'm not sure if this is the right forum for all of these questions, but since it's a new DVD player that is making me ask them, this is where I'll start the thread.

With that said, here is my current setup:
TV: Panasonic 53wx52 - No DVI :frowning:
Receiver: Yamaha RX-V1200
DVD Player: Panasonic RP-62

I've got a DirecTivo, OTA-HD Receiver and a couple other toys and everything is switched through the Yamaha for Audio and Video.

I have not been very happy with my RP-62, so last night I decided to replace it with the new Sony Mega-Changer (CX985V, not the 777ES), and since I've never used a changer before I've got a few questions.

1: While reading the manual, I noticed a little blurb about SACD's not being able to be output via the Digital out of the Sony, and this has me confused. Does this mean that I have to hook my speakers up directly to my DVD Player for SACDs? If so, how would I go about doing this so that I could listen to SACDs through the Sony yet still output everything else through my receiver without manually changing the speaker connections every time? I've never actually heard an SACD but thought it would be cool to try out after everything I've heard about them, but I'm not willing to change my speaker connections every time I want to listen to one.