What's new

Panasonic RP91: Another Great Idea From HTF -Thanks! (1 Viewer)

Thanks to all that have posted about how great the Panasonic RP91 is. I have previously listened to reviews on here from those who have purchased an Outlaw 1050, SVS, BetterCables, Klipsch Reference, and been happy with all of my purchases based on those recommendations. So, I just went for 5-for-5 and am still batting perfectly!
My new Champagne beauty showed up on Friday ($466 shipped from etronics.com) and I spent the weekend playing with it. I won't go into much detail about how good the picture is and the sound, as I am not a true expert and simply go by the "I can notice a difference" method. However, the Video IS better even on my 5 year 50" RPTV Mitsubishi. So much clearer.
The main thing that I am ecstatic about is being able to use the 5.1 DTS out to the 5.1 Direct input on the Outlaw and with a touch of a button (6.1) I have DTS AND my center surround sound (granted, it is matrixed, but, it still sounds great). Previously, I had to choose between the center surround w/ DD or DTS w/out. (My last player couldn't decode DTS, only output it) Now, I have it all. DTS Gladiator is much better, period.
The added bonus to this beauty is the DVD-Audio. The first one I tried was Natalie Merchant's Tigerlilly. Even w/o my soon to arrive (hopefully) Outlaw ICBM the sound was incredible. I was actually quite happy with the bass. This turned out to be the wild card with the wife. She isn't that excited about all the upgrades, but, the sound on Tigerlilly made her endorse the upgrade wholeheartedly. This was unexpected, and I recommend it to any of you on the fence. Maybe you will luck out and your significant other's favorite album will happen to be one of the few released on DVD-Audio.
I also thank those of you who recommended the Champagne color. It sticks out completely compared to the rest of my black equipment, but, that's exactly why I like it! It looks so classy.