What's new

Need help on figuring out what is wrong with certain DVDs (1 Viewer)

Jay E

Senior HTF Member
Hi

I just recently bought a new HDTV 1080 TV and a new Oppo DVD player that upconverts to 1080 and I notice certain problems with my DVDs now. I am a complete novice when it comes to these things so please excuse my ignorance.

1 - I just tried to watch my 1943 Munchausen DVD from KINO and after 20 minutes gave up due to the image problems. Whenever someone moves, or the camera moves, it is not smooth - it appears that the image is being trailed as they or the camera moves (is this was they call ghosting?). I've read reviews of the KINO DVD and none of them state any problems with the transfer, in fact the reviews were glowing. Very frustrating.

2- In other DVDs I will find have objects moving around in the background, such as walls, lamps, trees, mountains etc...which is very annoying. This happens quite frequently. I just watched my Breaking Away DVD and objects in the picture kept moving around so much it felt like I was watching the film while on LSD.

If someone can explain what these problems are I would appreciate it. Is there a way to fix these problems? Is there a way of adjusting my DVD player or my TV so that they can play these DVDs without these problems (I never noticed these problems when watching on my old picture tube TV).

Many thanks for any help.

TomDaniel

Auditioning
Hi-

Yeah, HDTVs are great, but they tend to amplify the problems of less than stellar DVDs, problems you may have never noticed until you got that nice new TV set.