What's new

Need help on car purchase: Thunderbird and Lincoln Continental (1 Viewer)

Mark Larson

Supporting Actor
OK... I'm going to ask you guys for advice on cars i'm looking at and have already driven.
I'm a college student, junior, in need of a car. My budget is ~$ 2000, the lower the better - more money for beer! :D
Car 1: MY93 Thunderbird, maroon, maroon inside (blech!), 3.8L Auto V6.
I drove this car, and it didn't give any problems, and felt reasonable powerful. Cost = $ 2300, hopefully able to bargain down to below $ 2000. 138,000 miles.
Car 2: MY90 Lincoln Continental, some dark color, 3.8L V6, auto. Now, i wasn't able to drive this car (dead battery), but at $ 1250 advertised, i think it is a good deal - the KBB value for this car is > $ 4000. 96,000 miles.
What do you guys think? Are there any specific issues with either cars i should check out before buying? The T-bird is nice, but the Lincoln is a darn sight cheaper (plus i'll get less cops pulling me over! :D).

Jared_B

Supporting Actor
Sounds like the Lincoln has more problems than just a dead battery (you always get what you pay for). Stick with the car that is in the best shape, or needs the fewest repairs. The money you save up front will disappear quickly as problems arise.

Ashley Seymour

Supporting Actor
90 Lincoln.

Check if it has air shocks. If it has were they recently replaced? Rear set of air shocks on this car cost $750 and then there is the cost to install of a few hundred dollars more. The front air shocks run about $350-400 each plus installation. Look around at other Lincolns and I guarantee you will see some with their ass draging. The rear shocks are blown and the drivers cant afford to replace them.

Air Conditioning. The lines tend to collect crap and if not attended to will fleck off and lock up the compressor. An easy $1000 or more if it goes out. and 90-100,000 miles is a good time for it to go.

A lot of electronic stuff than can go bad.