What's new

My panny 53WX52 just blew up!! Need Help. (1 Viewer)

Scott.Lacy

Grip
I'm brand new to HT, and you guys have taught me a lot since I found this forum, so I'm hoping you'll have some ideas on what just happened to my RPTV.

I bought the Panasonic 53WX52 December 27th, so it's not even a month old. I turned the sharpness down right away, and was going to wait until sometime in Feb. to calibrate it with Avia. I has worked perfectly since I bought it but went haywire the other night. I was watching a show and fell asleep on the couch, so the TV was on from roughly 8pm to 5am when I woke up. When I fell asleep (around 10pm) it was fine. When I woke up at 5am, the convergence was shot. Every image had the 'blue shadow', but it wasn't stationary, it jumped from one side of the person to the other randomly, then top or bottom. I went to set the convergence manually, and the same thing happened. Not only was the blue cross-hair jumping all over the screen making it virtually impossible to set it, but some of them we warped. All 8 of the cross-hairs had fuzzy edges that would not fit nicely into the grid, and the top-left and bottom-right crosses were bent into half circles. Not only that, but the screen itself had a lot of noise when anything on screen moves. I called the dealer, and he told me to unplug it for 20 minutes to reset the micro-processor, but that didn't work, so a Panny rep is supposed to call today to set up a time to come look at it.