What's new

Movin' Up 5.1 To 6.1 To 7.1 Help (1 Viewer)

Scott Ailstock

Auditioning
Hello, I'm fairly new to the HT world. I currently have a Sony DD 5.1 reciever and Klipch Reference speakers. I like the speakers and plan to keep them. I have the RF3 fronts, RC3 center, RS3 surrounds, and a KSW12 sub . I have a chance to buy a used Denon reciever with 6.1 capabilities for a good price. I would like, in the not too distant future, to have a 7.1 receiver (That's the way things seem to be going). After all of that, here's my question :

If I buy another pair of RS3 surrounds, can I use one of them as the rear center for 6.1 until such time as I am able to afford a 7.1 reciever and then use both of the RS3's as a pair?

Thanks in advance for your comments.

Jason_Els

Screenwriter
Hi Scott and welcome to Home Theater Forum! :D
This whole situation has been something of a problem. There are no 7.1 consumer formats nor have any been planned. Sony's SDDS, which is a true 7.1 format, could become a consumer format for DVD but so far they have not elected to do that nor have they announced any plans to.
Dolby Digital EX / DTS-ES: These 6.1 formats, as far as rear channel decoding is concerned, are essentially Pro-Logic for the rear derived from the discrete signals fed to the surrounds and your bass management choices in the receiver. For example, if you have small sides but large rears the bass that was supposed to go to the surrounds will be fed to the rear instead. EX/ES material is encoded to take advantage of 6.1 systems so that the rear provide some directionality. They all use 6 discrete channels, 1 center, 2 front sides, 2 surrounds, and 1 LFE channel. All EX and ES capable receivers and surround processors can create a 6.1 matrix from non-EX/ES material. Sometimes it works well, other times it doesn't. It's a matter of what is pleasing to you.
DTS NEO:6 : This takes any 2-channel (stereo) source and creates a 5 or 6 channel surround format.