MASSIVE! overscan on Panasonic TX28PK3

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Justin T, Feb 12, 2002.

  1. Justin T

    Justin T Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought this and the overscan is hellish. 2.35:1 films appear almost 1.85:1 on the 16x9 setting. I would VERY much appreciate any help you guys might have for me. It's such a disappointment when you consider the price.
     
  2. Chris M

    Chris M Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2000
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I have way too much overscan on my Tosh TW57H81 as well, it sucks. I can't see any black bars for 1.85:1 or 1.66:1 movies, and using wide mode 2 on 1.77:1 TV shows misses a lot of picture!

    Wish there was an easy tweak for that.

    Chris.
     
  3. Ryan Spaight

    Ryan Spaight Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wish I knew why this is so easy on PC digital monitors and so hard on HDTV digital monitors.

    Is there a technical reason for this?

    Ryan
     
  4. Jay Sylvester

    Jay Sylvester Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    After lots of fiddling with my Wega's service menu, I can say that there's no technical reason whatsoever that they couldn't provide basic geometry, size, and aspect controls as standard adjustments. My guess is that they're afraid the average consumer is too stupid to use these features, and would mess up their set's geometry so badly that it would take a tech to fix it.

    The first time I needed to adjust the overscan on my Wega, I called a tech and wasted an entire Saturday waiting around for him to show up. When he got there, it took him about two minutes to navigate the menu and fix the problem. After that, I went on the net and got the code to enter the menu myself.

    No reason stuff like that shouldn't be made available to advanced users (in a more user-friendly menu system of course). My PC monitor has it, so why not my TV?
     

Share This Page