What's new

I just bought a Denon 1200. Please, tell my why I should return it.... (1 Viewer)

Danny Beck

Stunt Coordinator
I'm new to the Home Theater Forum. :) I have been on a quest for the past couple months for the best DVD player for my setup. So, i'm here to ask for some good advice.

After buying a 42" Sony Grand Wega III in October, I did quite of bit of reading on this forum as well as others. I finally ended up buying a Denon 1200 a couple days ago and I am very happy with the results. Before buying the 1200 I had previously bought and returned a Denon 1600 (floor model that broke a week later), a Denon 910, and a Samsung HD931 which I hooked up via DVI cable.

I loved all the Denons and the Samsung had a fantastic picture as well. The only reason I returned the HD931 was simply because of the black crush which was way to serious for my eyes. So, I ended up with the Denon 1200 which seems to be the closest alternative to the Denon 1600 right now. I know I can find another 1600 somewhere but i've done some searching and i'm not excited about ordering a DVD player through the mail. I know how those UPS guys handle boxes. :)

So my question is this. I love my Denon 1200 and the picture looks nearly flawless to me. My only concern is what i've heard about DVI players and "fixed pixel" displays. I've been told if you can get the DVD player to put out the native resolution of the tv you'll get a picture beyond your wildest dreams. The problem is my Sony GW III has a native resolution of 788 progressive. I have yet to hear of a DVD player that is going to output that exact resolution.

So, should I return my 1200 or is there a better option currently available? Also, does anyone have a suggestion for me that might be out within the next few months? I don't feel like waiting til the fall but I would wait a couple months if necessary. Thanks for any input.

Danny

BrianWoerndle

Supporting Actor

I think that is a little much.