I got a pioneer vsx-d811s, but I have 4 optical devices? Am I hosed?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JohnTKline, Nov 7, 2002.

  1. JohnTKline

    JohnTKline Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got this reciever for dts 6.1, but I have:
    directv (hd) reciever with optical out
    dvd panny rp-56, optical
    x-box optical
    ps2 optical
    This reciever has 2 optical+2 coaxial outs, 1 optical in, and an optical out in the front, (why I don't know, they should've put it in the back).
    What should I do????

    John
     
  2. Nick Cerretti

    Nick Cerretti Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Few receivers offer 4 optical ins, and if they do, you have to pay a large amount of money (i.e. over $1000). One exception to this rule is the Panny SA-HE200, which shouldnt be too much more than the 811. I'm sure there's a few more I'm missing.
    I'm sure there is some sort of digital in switch, but hopefully someone else knows about it because I don't.
    So what should you do? Get a new receiver or bite the bullet and be forced to manually switch connections (gasp![​IMG] )
     
  3. Michael_Hml

    Michael_Hml Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Audio Authority makes an autosensing digital switch for up to 4 devices, using either optical or coax connections. Digital Connection sells it for $120, but I think I may have seen one floating around used recently on AVS.

    -Mike
     
  4. Bill Will

    Bill Will Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try www.partsexpress.com I'm pretty sure I saw that they had a low-price optical switcher but I don't know how good it is. Radio Shack also has a 4 input 1 output optical switcher for $29.99 catalog number 15-1586 but again I don't know how good it is & the Parts Express one is probably cheaper anyway & might even be the same switcher that the Shack has?
     
  5. Tom Rags

    Tom Rags Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Better yet, just covert your optical signal to a coaxial signal from partsexpress. Here is a link to the optical to coaxial converter (they also sell a coax to optical converter).
    You are no longer hosed! [​IMG]
     
  6. Robert_Gaither

    Robert_Gaither Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The ratshack also sells a product (item #15-1987 if I remember correctly) at the following link:
    http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...5Fid=15%2D1987
    That may not only solve your problem but hopefully other people's as well if you lack enough inputs (I use the lower model 15-1242 to convert my VCR analog outs to PCM digital so that my Technics SH-AC500D can process the signal to DPL in my main theater room so the product should be decent quality).
     
  7. JohnTKline

    JohnTKline Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey that parts express has some pretty nifty shiznat. I think I'll just get two optical/coaxial converters. Why would they need a power supply though?

    Man, now I just saw the manual 4 in 1 optical switcher, damn, what to pick now??

    John
     
  8. Tom Rags

    Tom Rags Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    John-
    If I were you, I would get two optical to coax switchers. This way, the receiver will do all switching for you automatically and you do not have to manually switch to a different component as you would with the optical switchers. BTW, the reason they need a power supply is, simply, that it requires power in the circuit board to be able to convert from an optical to a coaxial signal.
     
  9. Alf S

    Alf S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    2,983
    Likes Received:
    509
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    Alfer
    Why not use this switcher from Recoton and plug in 3 of the 4 opticals you have to it, and then plug say your Directv straight to the receiver since it will be used on a regular basis?
    These are inexpensive and can be found at Best Buy etc.
    Just a thought
    Alfer
     
  10. Brian Ruth

    Brian Ruth Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doesn't the Yamaha 5590 have more than 4 optical inputs? Its only about 800
     

Share This Page