Help! Problem with Norton Systemworks

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Lee Scoggins, Feb 19, 2002.

  1. Lee Scoggins

    Lee Scoggins Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Lee
    Friends,
    Help. I cannot get my new copy of Norton Systemworks to install. I had previously installed Norton Internet Security which comes with Antivirus 2002. I have never had a problem.
    Now I go to install Norton Systemworks (thinking it might be good to have the Cleansweep and wind doctor utilities) and it won't install unless I uninstall Antivirus 2002.
    I don't have an uninstall option for Antivirus though! Also, I don't want to lose my personal firewall that came with the Internet Security package.
    Of course, the Symantec customer service lines are busy beyond belief and no mention in the large owner's manual.
    Any ideas or suggestions are greatly appreciated. [​IMG]
    Lee
    Lost in Norton land...
     
  2. Lee Scoggins

    Lee Scoggins Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Lee
    Forgot to mention I am running Windows XP on an IBM thinkpad with all the latest drivers.
    If that helps any... [​IMG]
    Lee
     
  3. Masood Ali

    Masood Ali Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does it have a custom install option where you can install everything but NAV2002? When I installed Systemworks 2002, I did a custom install and chose which components I wanted to install; I'm guessing you can do the same.
     
  4. Lee Scoggins

    Lee Scoggins Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Lee
    Masood,

    Good idea, but unfortunately it won't let you get to the custom install screen until you uninstall Antivirus.

    I really just wanted WinDoctor and Clean Sweep so that would have been a great solution if I could have gotten that far in the install process.

    Any other ideas?

    Lee
     
  5. Lee Scoggins

    Lee Scoggins Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Lee
    Found the solution. [​IMG] Internet Security Suite lets you uninstall Antivirus by itself. I did this and then installed the Antivirus on Systemworks and everything is okay.
    The only problem is that it took a half hour to download all the product updates, but I dpo have a slow line.
    Lee
     

Share This Page