What's new

Help me figure a few things out. (1 Viewer)

Nitro350Z

Auditioning
Real Name
Paul S
Alright, I'm not sure if this entirely the correct area to post, but here goes.

I am a Complete noob when in comes to home audio and mostly audio in general, I know a few things and have been reading a lot but still most of it is new to me.

I am setting up a home theater system(buying receiver, then all speakers separately). So far I have come up with this receiver - Yamaha RXV4600Ti (130W per channel, 7.1)

but that's as far as I got for the sound system. I was considering getting yamaha speakers but from the specs they don't seem as good as I thought. If you know of a better receiver than this, thats not too overpriced, please tell me.

I have no clue what speakers to get now. Can someone give me a link or mention companies that make great speakers.

I was thinking of getting this kind of arrangement, what do you think? ( 1x center, 2x bookshelf front, 2x towers mid, 2x bookshelf rear)

If anybody is wondering, the system will also include a 72" toshiba DLP, a HTPC, and possibly a ps3 or xbox 360 in the near future.

Thanks in advance.

Sorry if its a bit hard to understand.

Also - can someone explain all the terms that are used when comparing speakers and other equipment, or provide a good link.

Alon Goldberg

Screenwriter
Real Name
Alon Goldberg
Hi Paul - Around US$1,800, you have a lot of options for receivers! At this price point I'd recommend looking at Denon, Marantz or Pioneer Elite receivers for home theatre, instead of the Yamaha. Personally I would choose the Denon AVR-3806 or AVR-4306. These are phenominal receivers.

But before selecting a receiver you will want to select your speakers.. What size room will these speakers be in? What percentage would these speakers be used for movies / CD listening. What is your speaker budget, including cabling? What are your listening preferences?