What's new

good used stereo pre-amp (1 Viewer)

NickSI

Stunt Coordinator
ok im getting more informed about home theater everyday but im still sort of new. im a college student who wants to make my own stereo. i realize that i can get better sound out of component pieces than if i buy a big boombox. my budget is limited to a couple hundred bucks $500 at the absolute max. i know most of you reading this are thinking what the heck can he get thats halfway decent for $500. im totally fine with used. what im looking for is a receiver or a pre-amp either one (i don't listen to much radio though). and a decent set of bookshelfs preferably but i guess floor standing would work too. i have a music source, either my ipod or my laptop. so i don't need a cd player or anything. can anyone point me to a good used stereo website or maybe somebody has something lying around the house that you would be willing to let go of for a price.

Philip Hamm

Senior HTF Member
Check the Hardware classified here for the last couple months. I happen to know that there's a really nice Harman/Kardon stereo receiver with pre-out/post-in loop that can be used as a preamp....... ;)

NickSI

Stunt Coordinator
alright well as i said im always learning. and i just learned that i don't want a pre-amp. the real name for what im looking for is an integrated amplifier. but just in case im still wrong im gonna put it in kindergarten terms. im looking for a device that will take input amplify it and output it directly to speakers. no phono out is required heck i dont even need switching i only really need one input. maybe you guys can help me figure this out. i guess i thought i knew more than i did. :b

NickSI

Stunt Coordinator
thanks that looks like exactly what i was looking for! great reviews maybe they will come out with one with more than 15w per channel but no one seemed to complain about it not being loud enough. if i get it ill let you guys know how it is.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium