What's new

Finally! My Non-technical Strata Minis review (1 Viewer)

Luis Gabriel Gerena

Second Unit
Greetings!
Let me start by thanking Mark Schifter for this wonderful product and the passion you put into all your speakers. Needless to say, without your help, I wouldn't be reviewing this today.

Disclaimer
I dont claim to be an audiophile or anything like that but I have been involved with music since I can remember. I started playing the acoustic guitar when I was 5 thanks to my dad.
Later I started playing piano (not a lot) and finally started to do what I love the most professionally...sing! I travel with a very famous latin band and experienced live percussion, trumpets, sax, etc...during rehersal and the
actual shows to really know how those instruments sound.
In any case, sound is very subjective so my experience here should not be taken as the final word on this speakers and their performance.

I will always recommend to try for yourself but since thats not always possible..well here is my very own humble opinion.

Equipment:
[url=https://static.hometheaterforum.com/imgrepo/b/bf/htf_imgcache_5285.jpeg] [/url]
Receiver: Harman Kardon AVR-635
DVD/CD Player: Toshiba HD-A1 and Computer (X-FI Fatal1ty)
Onix XCD-99 CD player
Pioneer 563a DVD-A/SACD player
Radio Shack SPL and AVIA
Music used for evaluation:
*Spanish Harlem-Rebeca Pigeon (Chesky)
*If I Could Sing Your Blues (Chesky)
*Cuando Salga La Lun - Placido Domingo
*Ayudame Dios Mio - Placido Domingo
*Latin Tropical music....
*Many more

As a reference Ive auditioned or owned the following speakers (among others):

Acoustic Research 318PS
AR PSC25
Klipsch RC52
Klipsch RF82
Paradigm Titans
Paradigm CC-70 (center)
Advent tower (cant recall the model)
Insignia
Onix X-CS
Onix X-LS
Onix X-SLS
HTD Level 3 Center
HTD Level 3 Tower
Swans 2.1
Rockets 250 (1st gen)
Plus some others...

Packaging