What's new

Dishnetwork Signal Lost on 119 (1 Viewer)

Tommy G

Screenwriter
OK, I'm looking for some advice here. First off, I'm not very good with the technicalities of satellite TV. I lost my signal last fall and when winter came it was perfect again. So I attributed it to a tree getting in the way (was also a lot worse on windy days). Anyway, spring came around and I again lost the signal because the leaves came back. I eyeballed where I thought the tree was and took 2 of them down. After taking them down, I now find myself still dismayed because there is still no signal. I don't want to get into a situation where I am just chopping down trees left and right. I was wondering if there is some tool that maybe Radio Shack or someplace sells where I can get up on the roof (which is another problem because I have height issues) and use a tool to pinpoint which tree it is that is blocking the signal. I don't want to pay a dishnetwork guy to come out and tell me that it is "x" tree I need to get rid of and then pay him $75 to tell me that. Any advice is appreciated.

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
If you are using a Dish500 dish, it is not pointed a the satellite. It is pointed exactly between the 110 and 119 satellites.

I was wondering if there is some tool that maybe Radio Shack or someplace sells where I can get up on the roof (which is another problem because I have height issues) and use a tool to pinpoint which tree it is that is blocking the signal.
Wal-Mart sells this tool in the sporting goods section. It's called a compass. Download the dish pointing utility from Dishnetwork's site and get the coordinates for the 119 satellite (and ONLY the 119 satellite). It should be about 4.5 degrees to the right of where your dish is pointing. That is your line of site to the 119 satellite.

-Robert

Scott Kimball

Screenwriter