Connecting more powerful subwoofer

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Scott_C, Oct 12, 2002.

  1. Scott_C

    Scott_C Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm relatively new to home theater, and I'm guessing this is probably a very stupid question...but here goes [​IMG]
    My receiver only has a 100W subwoofer, and I would love more bass during my movies. What exactly must I do to add a larger, more powerful subwoofer? I don't know much about amplifiers, which I'm guessing is the route I need to take.
    What and where do I connect the new sub (and amplifier?) to my current receiver?
     
  2. Martice

    Martice Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Scott and welcome to the world of HT. Anyway, you may be better off posting this thread in the "Speakers and Subwoofers" section. However, since you did post it here I'll help you anyway.
    Once you publish this information the answers will come in the bunches.
     
  3. Scott_C

    Scott_C Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I currently have the RCA RT2250 system.
    I know how to connect a sub woofer to a system, just not how to power a bigger subwoofer that requires more watts than my receiver puts out. That's why I was asking about having to get an amplifier [​IMG]
    The room is 29'x30' with a 12' vaulted ceiling. It's a huge room, and I have a thirst for excellent sound and bass :p)
    Thanks for your help, I appreciate it.
    BTW - I'm 18 and living with my parents for the next year. I have to appeal to my mother's need for "non-intruding" items in the family room. Once I get my own house, I'm building the custom theater of my dreams - all separates, HTPC, project, etc etc etc. But, for now, I have to work with a HTIB [​IMG]
     
  4. Craig_Kg

    Craig_Kg Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If the sub in the HTiB is passive, then you will need an active sub that has speaker level inputs or if using a normal amp to power another sub, then you will need to attenuate the HTiB sub out to signal levels with a line converter.
     
  5. Scott_C

    Scott_C Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The sub in the HTiB is passive.

    So, let me see if I interpreted that correctly. Since the HTiB sub is passive, I need a line converter attached to the sub out on my receiver that will then connect to an amplifier, which in turn connects to a new, more powerful sub.

    Or, I could buy an active sub with speaker level inputs and attach it to the subwoofer out on my receiver.

    As I said before, I'm new to all of this, so I'm doing my best to figure it out =P

    Thanks for your help everyone =]
     
  6. Craig_Kg

    Craig_Kg Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's it, although it's more that you want a more powerful amp (either in an active or separate) to drive a bigger sub driver than the HTiB passive.
     
  7. Scott_C

    Scott_C Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here's my next thought - I could build an active sonotube and connect it to my HTiB receiver, correct?

    I'm thinking of a dual 12" Shiva sonotube...a huge step up, but certainly a nice one =P
     

Share This Page