What's new

Connecting more powerful subwoofer (1 Viewer)

Scott_C

Auditioning
I'm relatively new to home theater, and I'm guessing this is probably a very stupid question...but here goes :)
My receiver only has a 100W subwoofer, and I would love more bass during my movies. What exactly must I do to add a larger, more powerful subwoofer? I don't know much about amplifiers, which I'm guessing is the route I need to take.
What and where do I connect the new sub (and amplifier?) to my current receiver?

Martice

Screenwriter
Hi Scott and welcome to the world of HT. Anyway, you may be better off posting this thread in the "Speakers and Subwoofers" section. However, since you did post it here I'll help you anyway.
Once you publish this information the answers will come in the bunches.
What and where do I connect the new sub (and amplifier?) to my current receiver?
YOu have two ways to integrate a sub into your HT system but since you seemed to only mention HT, I'll give you the way that would benefit you the most for that application.
You can use a "Subwoofer" cable that you can pick up from any electronics store. Depending on the culpabilities of your speakers would determine if you should use the "Large" or Small" setting provided by your receiver. Regardless of size MOST people use the small setting on their receivers regardless of speaker size.
Moving on, all you have to do is connect the subwoofer cable to it's appropriate connection on the rear of your receiver and then connect the other end to one of the 'RCA' connectors labeled "INPUT".
Better yet, why don't you read this:
All you'll need to know about HT
Combine these articles and the feedback from this forum and you'll be purchasing separates before you know it. ;)

Scott_C

Auditioning
I currently have the RCA RT2250 system.