Confused About Aspect Ratios and Black Bars

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Daniel_L, Aug 27, 2002.

1. Daniel_L

Daniel_L Auditioning

I'm new to home theater and confused. My set up is a Sony kv32hs500 set to Cinemotion and 16:9 enhanced (auto). My DVD player is a Pany 91 set for 16:9 TV and I had progressive scan on.

When I watch 2.35:1 dvds, I get a great picture with black bars top and bottom. When I watch Saving Private Ryan and Say anything (both 1.85:1, I think), I again get a great picture with black bars top and bottom. When I watch Hearts In Atlantis (1.85:1), I get black bars AND grey bars top and bottom? Why is Hearts In Atlantis different?

Are these the best settings to use?

2. Chris Brown

Chris Brown Stunt Coordinator

-
    I think it has to do with the difference between "anamorphic" and "Widescreen". Traditional widescreen actually has the black bars encoded as part of the film, while anamorphic uses the entire film for the picture and then your player/display stretches or compresses it back to the normal size, therefore making it's own black bars, instead of the black bars being encoded in the film itself. It is my experience that black bars encoded into the film itself are not "as black" as the bars generated by your Player/Display when viewing an anamorphic, and therefore appear grey. What you are seeing may be a combo of the two.

3. Michael Reuben

Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

ORIGINAL POST DELETED BY AUTHOR. I confused two different films in my head, so that my initial post on this was headed in the wrong direction. A better-considered version appears below.
    M.

4. Joe Tilley

Joe Tilley Supporting Actor

Daniel, it sounds to me like the brightness & or contrast is up to high on your TV. The bars should be black all the way through. Are they just plain gray or are they more of a washed out black kind of gray?