What's new

College student needs cheapest possible solution for complete hi-fi system (1 Viewer)

Geoff I

Auditioning
Hi, I'm an excessively poor college student. I'm going to say something that will probably make you guys gag: I want to put together a setup for under $1000. I mean DVD player, tv, and surround sound setup. Basically, I'm looking for the best bargains, or the best of the worst, whichever way you want to look at it. I'll take any advice, even if you want to say I'm a moron for trying this.
Geoff

PhilShen

Grip
A budget of a grand? And you call yourself poor? :)
First of all, it's definitely doable to get a respectful system in that budget. You may want to clarify some of your wants & wishes, and your "environment" -- Are you more interested in Video than Audio, or vice versa? Are you in a small dorm room or an apartment/condo?
For a dorm room you may want to build a HTPC with a TV tuner card, a DVD player with decoder, then throw some good PC speakers around. You can use the PC for your schoolwork as well. (As if!)
For a more traditional HT setup, you can look at some "Home Theater in a Box" solutions from Sony, Kenwood, and so on. I think you can get a package that includes surround speakers & a sub, receiver & dvd player, for around $600. Then spend around $400 for the TV.
Hope this helps.

Scott L

Senior HTF Member
$1k is more than enough, or close to it! :) I am a poor college student like yourself and did much research before I went out and bought my HT gear, here's what I recommend for the current models:
Kenwood HTB-504 receiver and speakers- DD/DTS/DPL 2 @ 100wx5 with a kickass 100w powered sub
~$400
Panasonic RV-31k DVD player- plays cdr/cd-rw/vcd/mp3
~$200
JVC 27" - s-video input & good size for a college dorm room, plus VERY easy to do the anamorphic squeeze trick on.
~$400
You won't be disappointed with those choices, they are all very solid components. Good luck & don't forget about pricescan.com !