What's new

Bass Shaker w/ DLS amp (1 Viewer)

Jay O

Auditioning
I recently got the DLS 10 sub with the bad amp, PE was on the ball and got me a new amp asap. Now I have the old amp just sitting on the shelf and have read about bass shakers. These look incredible but I have a couple of questions on them...

1. Can I just hook the amp for the shakers into the amp on my existing sub-woofer? Just a regular RCA cable?

2. From this amp, do the shakers just connect through the speaker outs with normal speaker wire?

3. What shakers should I buy? Is it better to have 4 or the 25W Aura shakers (from PE) or 2 of the Aura Pro 50W? The couch I'm going to install them in will seat 4-5 people.

Sorry if my questions are elementary, but I'm new to world bass shakers and have just transitioned out of the HTIB setup.

Jay

Ryan Schnacke

Supporting Actor
I hadn't thought about this before, but a sub plate amp is an excellent amp for bass shakers. The built in crossover would be great for keeping mid-bass from activating them.

"1. Can I just hook the amp for the shakers into the amp on my existing sub-woofer? Just a regular RCA cable?"

Probably not. Usually the Dayton plate amps have a high pass filter on both the line-level and the speaker-level outputs. So you'd get very little low bass signal to your shaker amp. Instead you should used a RCA splitter on your receiver's subwoofer output and send one signal to the sub and the other to the shaker amp.

"2. From this amp, do the shakers just connect through the speaker outs with normal speaker wire? "