What's new

Bad Korean bootleg DVD's, doh! (1 Viewer)

Andy Kim

Second Unit
Hi Everyone,
I was looking for some Korean DVD's and decided to venture to this large Asian mall in town where they have many DVD shops. Keep in mind I am very new to the whole international dvd thing.

I got Musa (2 disc), Taegukgi, and Shilmido. I had an inkling that these weren't legit given their all region coding but purchased them anyways. I knew that some legit Korean DVD's were coded as all region or sometimes Region 1 and 3 so hoped that this was the case.
Boy was I wrong!
Shilmido was taken directly from a guy sitting in a theater and recording it from his camcorder. It was unwatchable. As for Taegukgi, the picture was slightly better than VCD quality however the sound was horrible I could tell that it was recorded from within a movie theater also.
Musa was the only one that was watchable. It wasn't anamorphic but atleast was decent quality.

I guess my question is: how do people go about enjoying Korean cinema in North America? Right now I'm stuck with whatever Columbia Tristar decides to release which hasn't been much...There's been "Shiri", "The Way Home" and "Tube". Is getting an all-region player the only way to go? Aren't all-region players knockoff's themselves though also?

Andy

Brian Thibodeau

Supporting Actor

Not necessarily.