What's new

Anyone ever spray with automotive paint? (1 Viewer)

Nick Hallett

Agent
Has anyone here ever finished a unit by spraying automotive paint? I ask because I've never used the stuff before and it looks like it might be a hassle dealing with all the different things one needs to mix into the paint (reducer, retarder, etc...). I've only used my HVLP gun to spray latex housepaints before. The results were pretty good, but it seems impossible to eliminate the orange peeling that goes with the properties of latex.

I'm in the process of designing a computer sub with a Koda 8 and the 70W PE amp. All those damn chopper shows on the discovery channel make me want to try automotive paint for a finish.

How about some House of Kolor candy red with some metal flake mixed in, or ghost flames and pinstripes!:)

Hmm...on another subject, Don't ya think the SVS guys would make a great "reality build" show on discovery? I can see it now: "American Subwoofer" hell yeah!:laugh:

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Nick,

As you may already know, good automotive paint is very expensive – often between $60-100/gal.

Trust me, you won’t eliminate orange peel simply by shooting auto paint. The only way they get that “clear as water” finish you see on show cars is by careful and extensive hand-sanding between every coat.

Perhaps someone with more experience and knowledge of different kinds of paint can comment, but I see no reason why you couldn’t apply the same techniques the auto show painters use to household latex:

Between coats, apply automotive rubbing compound or sand with #400 paper, followed with #600 or perhaps #800.

For final coat as above, finished off with automotive polishing compound or sanding with #1200.

You might want to pick up a handbook on automotive painting at your local auto parts store for more (and probably better) information.