Any personal experiences with ADELPHIA digital cable?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jason Merrick, Aug 3, 2001.

  1. Jason Merrick

    Jason Merrick Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2000
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA (Los Angeles)
    Real Name:
    Jason Merrick
    I have read all the negative reviews of digital cable in the past. However, my next-door neighbor who is a digital effects artist, said that the picture is spectacular with Adelphia's digital cable. I know I had read here in the past that most people thought the problems weren't necessarily inherent with digital, but just that the cable companies were squeezing too much into the space by using heavy compression.
    I just cancelled my Netflix membership and was thinking about throwing the extra $20 into a STARZ/ENCORE package.
    Any thoughts?
    ------------------
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Willy K

    Willy K Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Adelphia cable better than Directv???? Wow, sure as hell not here in Buffalo, NY. Having had both I would still be hooked
    up to a dish if not for where I live. Adelphia has the typical cust. service...Horrid, Horrid. Digital in Buffalo can in no way compare to a dish, not even the onscreen guide. As far as pricing goes it costs me a $100 bucks a month. How ever that is for everything they offer including Powerlink, their cable modem service which is well...Horrid also. Oddly price wise I don't feel too put out though because of having a cable modem, when it works. So it really equates to $60.00 bucks a month for fully loaded digital cable, which I feel is ok. Priority # 1 for me is the NHL Center Ice package which oddly the cable company can offer but Dish Network can't, at least until the 2002/2003 season. But I for one will gladly tell Adelphia to stick it again as soon as I move. I would rather pay more for a fully loaded dish package than deal with the wal-mart level of service I get from Adelphia. Nuff said? C YA
     
  3. Jim Douglas

    Jim Douglas Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 1999
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    3
    Jason,
    I'll revive this post by saying I picked up an Adelphia digital cable box yesterday. I've been thinking about getting a dish but thought I might give this a try just to see. Overall it looks very good. I watched two movies last night on the HBO and SHO feeds and they looked very good. All I know is right now it looks alot better than the regular cable I had. Overall pretty happy so far.
    Later
    Jim
    ------------------
     
  4. Jason Merrick

    Jason Merrick Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2000
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA (Los Angeles)
    Real Name:
    Jason Merrick
    Thanks for the info Jim, that's exactly what I was looking for... their service leaves something to be desired though, I filled out the form on their website to have a rep contact me regarding digital cable and I got a form letter back stating digital cable was not yet available in my area.... funny, my next-door neighbor has had it for months, and I've had at least 2 different salesmen come to the door to offer it to me... go figure!
    Thanks again for all your comments guys.
    ------------------
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Jim Douglas

    Jim Douglas Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 1999
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    3
    I just went to the local office and signed up and picked everything up. In this area I've had very good luck getting service when needed. I've heard alot of cable company horror
    stories but I've been very lucky.
    Later
    Jim
     
  6. Jason Merrick

    Jason Merrick Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2000
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA (Los Angeles)
    Real Name:
    Jason Merrick
    Jim,
    Did you have to pay an installation fee? Or any additional start-up fees?
    ------------------
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Jim Douglas

    Jim Douglas Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 1999
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    3
    Jason,
    I was already an Adelphia customer so there where no other fees. I had standard cable and just upgraded to digital package. Got a Motorola converter,remote,some hookup cables and some installation guides and owner manuals. Brought it all home and hooked it up and it takes about 1/2 hour for all the programming to download. That was it,quick and painless. [​IMG] If you have anymore questions let me know.
    Later
    Jim
    ------------------
     
  8. Han

    Han Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2001
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've only had it for about three weeks in Sterling, VA. Overall, it's pretty good. I don't much care for the picture quality of any SD level broadcasts be it analog cable, digital cable, satellite, or over the air, so my expectations weren't too high. It was really a matter of quantity over quality. The picture is most of the time pretty clean and sound is good when pumped through Logic-7 or straight up unenhanced. I'd assume Pro-Logic II would do just as good a job as Logic-7 if not better.
    The outputs on my General Instruments box were only either RF or composite + stereo RCA. It's weird, on the front it specifically has a Dolby Digital logo, and on the back (I recall) there are slots for an optical and S-Video connections, but both were closed off without connectors. So, I guess only the DD 2.0 or less kind. I asked the installation guy if I could get a box with such ports, and he gave me a blank stare and suggested I use the RF jack. I've emailed the customer service, and no replies.
    I know there are a couple of other people from Loudon County, VA here. Do you know if it's possible to get a box with better connections?
     

Share This Page