What's new

$25,000 HT budget - what should I buy? (1 Viewer)

JamieC

Auditioning
I am new to the Home Theater Forum and new to A/V. But I recently decided to devote considerable financial resources to getting the best audio and video equipment I can for $25,000 (Canadian dollars, I am in Toronto). I don't have any equipment yet, but will be starting to buy over the next couple of months. $25,000 is the amount that I'll spend on equipment (TV, DVD/CD, pre/pro, amp, surround seakers, cables and installation). The room is 15x15. Any ideas on proportion of budget for each of these items? I am currently renting a townhouse so the equipment will need to be transplantable to a house when I move in a few years. I am interested in RPTV or plasma monitor, but not sure if I'll be spending too much of my budget on TV as I am also interested in extremely high audio quality from both music and movies.

Any ideas on the above, or good Toronto-based resources would be appreciated.

Mike Witt

Stunt Coordinator
I'd budget about 50% of that on speakers all around, then get a projector for your video, fill in the rest with preamp, amplification, digital audio sources (DVD-A, SACD, CD, etc.), and digital video sources (DVD, HDTV, etc.). Sorry no specifics. You should find a local Home Theater custom installer for that budget and gather information and get advice from them. If you have competing dealers nearby, get bids from both. Share their bids and suggestions here, let HTF recommend and go back and tell them to modify their bids. Get professional advice on your project with this kind of budget.

bryan_chow

Agent
50" Panasonic plasma, around $8000
Faroudja NRS scaler, around $3500
Lexicon MC-1, used, around $2500
M&K S-150P THX Ultra powered 5.1 speakers, around $10000
non-progressive DVD/SACD player (NRS does not accept progressive), less than $1000