-

Jump to content



Photo

TV can't handle S and coax video at the same time


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 OFFLINE   Jorge Rod

Jorge Rod

    Agent

  • 27 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002

Posted August 13 2002 - 04:03 AM

I just upgraded my system with a Denon 2802 and Panasonic RP62 (thanks HTF and 6th AVE!). After completing my connections, I realized that my old JVC TV (1994) can not handle both S and coax video inputs (when I connect both, the TV does not acept the coax signal). Is there an adapter I can buy to solve this problem? I need an S + coax video mixer with an S-video output. The coax input is for my VCR.

Thanks!

Jorge

#2 of 11 OFFLINE   Alf S

Alf S

    Screenwriter

  • 1,421 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 23 2000
  • Real Name:Alfie

Posted August 13 2002 - 05:47 AM

Why not connect the coax from the wall to the VCR as normally done, then (if equipped) run the RCA video and audio out from the VCR to the receiver, then run the outputs from the receiver to the RCA inputs of the TV? Yeah you'll need to switch between TV inputs (Video 1 etc on TV) to see VCR vs. the s-video stuff, but at least you'll have everything you need.

Just a thought...
WOOSAH!.

 


#3 of 11 OFFLINE   Lee Bailey

Lee Bailey

    Second Unit

  • 263 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 08 2000

Posted August 13 2002 - 06:48 AM

Try this link. This may be what you are looking for. Also, I believe that Radio Shack carries a composite to S-Video adapter.

Terk S-video switcher

This problem is not uncommon. My Sony will do the same thing. It sounds like you only have 1 video input set.
The Bailey's Home Theatre in Our Living Room

#4 of 11 OFFLINE   Jorge Rod

Jorge Rod

    Agent

  • 27 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002

Posted August 13 2002 - 07:37 AM

I guess I should have said composite video instead of coax video. Sorry about that. My TV has the regular 3 cable RCA inputs (red, white and yellow), one S video and one input for regular coax (cable TV, for example). I am wondering if the Terk unit combines the composite and S video signals into the output you want, or if it keeps the S and composite combining separate (it has one S and one composite video outputs).

I'll also check Radio Shack, but I am not sure if their products are that good (I am using AR cables).

Thanks!

#5 of 11 OFFLINE   Alf S

Alf S

    Screenwriter

  • 1,421 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 23 2000
  • Real Name:Alfie

Posted August 13 2002 - 09:11 AM

Ok I see now ...no the switcher doesn't combine signals, each one is seperate. It does have 1 S-Video OUT and 1 RCA YELLOW OUT but you have to plug each one into the TV's corresponding inputs.

I was in the same boat, and I finally bought a cheap S-VHS VCR and now everything I have is S-Video (Directv, DVD,and VCR) all going thru audio receiver, and then 1 S-Video cable to TV. Works great.

Having RCA and S-Video makes for a bunch of switching between inputs w/ your current set-up.

Good luck!
WOOSAH!.

 


#6 of 11 OFFLINE   RichN

RichN

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 72 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 15 2002

Posted August 13 2002 - 11:42 AM

On most TVs that I know of, the S-video overides other inputs (composite). You will have to use your receiver to switch between the S-video and composite inputs (using video1 & video2).
RichN

#7 of 11 OFFLINE   Allan Jayne

Allan Jayne

    Screenwriter

  • 2,406 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 01 1998

Posted August 13 2002 - 02:48 PM

Your TV really accepts only one thing besides the antenna.

It's time to think about a new TV with more inputs. You need at least Video 1 and Video 2 and Video 3 choices on the remote for composite, S-video,a nd component video.

An S-VHS VCR usually makes a good composite to S-video converter but you still need to evaluate the picture quality for freedom from dot crawl. For testing use news or sports broadcasts with red and blue stripes with the player or newscaster name at the bottom.

Video hints:
http://members.aol.c...ynejr/video.htm
.

#8 of 11 OFFLINE   Jorge Rod

Jorge Rod

    Agent

  • 27 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002

Posted August 15 2002 - 03:57 AM

On that same token, I am a little puzzled by the lack of improvement when going from RCA to S-video on the Dish Network signal. The DVD looks so clear and with so much color, it almost hurts my eyes. On the other hand, the dish looks pretty much the same as with RCA cables.

I know the sources are different, and the signal is traveling thousand of miles thru the air and RF cables, but have you guys seen any improvement with S-video in your systems? I don't see much (again, I am using AR cables).

I want to get a new TV, but want to get new speakers first. 2003 is my target for both, so I'll probably get a refurbished S-video VCR this year (any suggestions on where to get one?). That will be good enough for my daugther's old videos.

Thanks!

#9 of 11 OFFLINE   John Meringolo

John Meringolo

    Agent

  • 40 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 19 2002

Posted August 15 2002 - 11:13 PM

There is a switch box available that has 4 a/v inputs, L-R audio,composite video and s-video with the same options on the output. This should solve your problem for less than $50.00

#10 of 11 OFFLINE   Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh

    Producer

  • 5,183 posts
  • Join Date: May 22 1999

Posted August 16 2002 - 03:11 AM

Quote:
I am a little puzzled by the lack of improvement when going from RCA to S-video on the Dish Network signal.

I have noticed the same thing. Staggering difference on a DVD, but not on a DSS.

You are limited by how good the source material is. People tell me that if I had used a premium channel like HBO, I may have seen a bigger difference between Composite & SVideo. (I used a local network station so I could compare cable with DSS-composite and DSS-SVideo).

You SHOULD see a improvement on the program guide. All those straight lines should show a reduction in dot-crawl.

#11 of 11 OFFLINE   Jorge Rod

Jorge Rod

    Agent

  • 27 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002

Posted August 16 2002 - 06:02 AM

I have HBO, so I'll check. I did not notice much difference with ESPN.

John, are you talking about the same Terk switch box reccomended earlier? That box does not mix S-video and RCA into the same S-video output, which is what I need. If you are talking about a different switch box, let me know.

Thanks!