Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Do watts matter if using preouts?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   Yepyepsure

Yepyepsure

    Auditioning



  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 2013
  • Real Name:yepyep

Posted December 31 2013 - 05:57 AM

Hey guys.  I am in the market for a new stereo receiver and was wondering if I should be concerned with watts since I will be using the preout with an external amp?  Any help on this topic would be greatly appreciated!  



#2 of 6 OFFLINE   Peter Apruzzese

Peter Apruzzese

    Screenwriter



  • 2,628 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 20 1999
  • Real Name:Peter Apruzzese

Posted December 31 2013 - 06:45 AM

No. The preouts do not use any amplifier power.


"What we're fighting for, in the end...we're fighting for each other." - Col. Joshua Chamberlain in "Gettysburg"

 


#3 of 6 OFFLINE   Yepyepsure

Yepyepsure

    Auditioning



  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 2013
  • Real Name:yepyep

Posted December 31 2013 - 08:05 AM

Ok, thats what I though.  Thanks!



#4 of 6 OFFLINE   Al.Anderson

Al.Anderson

    Screenwriter



  • 2,216 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002
  • Real Name:Al

Posted January 01 2014 - 11:06 AM

While "no" is the correct answer, it feels like there's missing information.  First, if you aren't going to use any of the amplification capabilities of the receiver, why not go with a pre-amp?  On the flip side, many amps are dual channel, and many people use them to power the front right/left, using the receiver to power the other channels.  If you need to power multiple channel you should consider this approach, which means you may want to consider the output of the receiver.  (On the flip, flip side, almost all of them are a few watts short of 120 anyway.)



#5 of 6 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,458 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 01 2014 - 11:14 AM

The OP did say "stereo receiver". Implying there is no multiple channel.

The HK 3490(if I got number correct) costs less than every single new stereo preamp.

#6 of 6 OFFLINE   Al.Anderson

Al.Anderson

    Screenwriter



  • 2,216 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002
  • Real Name:Al

Posted January 02 2014 - 05:55 AM

Once again proving why I always got those low reading comp scores ...

 

But while I love the 3490 in general, it's limited as a preamp - one digital input, one optical, and no HDMI.

 

Also, if anyone wants a 3490 they better move quickly.  I posted a few weeks ago that they were showing up discounted on Amazon Prime; now they are no longer available.  And they show up as "sold out" on H/K's site.

 

(Regardless of the 3490, I see your point.)






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users