Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Laptop to TV Connection ?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 Stan

Stan

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,925 posts
  • Join Date: May 18 1999

Posted October 02 2013 - 08:27 AM

Thinking of dropping DISH and cutting the cord.

 

We get a lot of channels through those digital/analog converters from a few years back, but with my main TV, the coax connector no longer works, so I use the S-video connection, this isn't an option on the two converters I bought.

 

Also with my laptop, my only video output is an SVGA port (it's a year old HP dv6).

 

Are there cables that convert from coax to S-video? Is there a way to connect my laptop to my TV where I need an SVGA input with S-video output? Possibly a USB connection?

 

Thanks for any replies.


Stan

#2 of 6 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 11,953 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted October 02 2013 - 08:29 AM

What series of DV6 didn't have HDMI? (granted I haven't even looked at a computer w/o HDMI in 6 years)



#3 of 6 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 11,953 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted October 02 2013 - 08:34 AM

And yes...

 

http://www.amazon.co...=svga composite



#4 of 6 Stan

Stan

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,925 posts
  • Join Date: May 18 1999

Posted October 02 2013 - 10:19 AM

Thanks Sam,

 

It turns out I do have an HDMI output from my laptop (just didn't know it, thought it was a USB port.

 

I'll do some shopping and hopefully get this issue settled.

 

Thanks again


Stan

#5 of 6 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 11,953 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted October 02 2013 - 10:39 AM

Good thing on the HDMI.

 

Depending on what drivers/set-up yours has(I have two DV6, one 3 yrs old on Vista and one going on 6 months old on 8)...

 

It might even already be setup for WiDi.(HP joined up with intel for early release of WiDi. There are some Vista HP that can do WiDi. I've not run into any 7 HP that can't do Widi, but they do exist.)



#6 of 6 ethanjose

ethanjose

    Newbie

  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 23 2013
  • Real Name:ethan

Posted October 25 2013 - 02:13 AM

 
There are several ways to connect your laptop to a TV. In most cases, you’ll be able to connect one of these three connectors directly to your TV: VGA, DVI or HDMI. Additionally, unless you’re using an HDMI connector, you’ll need a 3.5mm audio RCA cable with a mini-jack splitter or a mini-jack connector in order to transmit an audio signal. In most cases you’ll need one of the following adapter/cable combinations.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users