Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

RF Cable with some local HD channels - attempting to connect to HD projector


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 of 12 jedi4432

jedi4432

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 22 2013

Posted February 22 2013 - 01:24 PM

Hi All, I have an HD Sanyo projector with the regular inputs (composite, component, S-Video, HDMI, etc). I don't want to subscribe to cable because I don't watch TV very much, but I do watch sports on occasion - mostly football and UFC fights. I know that I can connect the RF cable to an old VCR and get some really low picture quality on my projector, but I feel that defeats the purpose of my HD projector. I was wondering if there was something I could use to decode the RF cable's regular and HD channels into an HD output that would connect to my projector (preferably HDMI, but component would be OK too.) Thanks for your help, everyone!

#2 of 12 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,806 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted February 22 2013 - 01:35 PM

Yep, a HDTV tuner.

#3 of 12 Type A

Type A

    Supporting Actor

  • 794 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 07 2007
  • Real Name:Ty
  • LocationPortland Oregon

Posted February 22 2013 - 01:36 PM

Welcome to the forum Luke :cool:
JVC DLA-RS60U3D & DaLite High Power 106"
Paradigm Studio V.5 20 (5) & ADP590 (2)  
Hsu VTF-2 MK3 (2) & MBM-12 MK2 (2)

Yamaha RX-A3010 & Emotiva XPA5
Oppo BDP93 & Darbee DVP 5000

*My Home Theater Photo Journal*

#4 of 12 jedi4432

jedi4432

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 22 2013

Posted February 22 2013 - 01:50 PM

Thanks for the welcome. Guys, I can't seem to find a happy price point here. I find them at a really scary (from China) low cost of $60, and then I find others for $1100!!! My search keywords are hdtv tuner rf hdmi. Anyone know a good brand? An average price I should pay for what I'm looking for?

#5 of 12 jedi4432

jedi4432

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 22 2013

Posted February 22 2013 - 01:55 PM

Is this what we're talking about here? http://www.epvision....hd205LEmain.htm

#6 of 12 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,806 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted February 22 2013 - 03:38 PM

Yes, although the 100 or "normal" 205 works as well. You don't have to have HDMI. You can use the DVI-HDMI. Depends how you are connecting this. The tuner straight to the projector...or is there an AVR?

#7 of 12 jedi4432

jedi4432

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 22 2013

Posted February 22 2013 - 04:44 PM

Yeah, but it looks like the 205LE is the cheapest of the 3 that does what I'm looking for. I'm just using HDMI because I already have a 25 ft HDMI cable ready for my PS3. No AVR - just going to connect it to the projector and do optical out. Thanks for all the help. Should get me going.

#8 of 12 Jason Charlton

Jason Charlton

    Screenwriter

  • 2,781 posts
  • Join Date: May 16 2002
  • Real Name:Jason Charlton
  • LocationBaltimore, MD

Posted February 22 2013 - 11:48 PM

No AVR - just going to connect it to the projector and do optical out.

Optical out to what?

Are you new to the Home Theater Forum? Stop by the New Member Introductions area and introduce yourself! See you there!


#9 of 12 jedi4432

jedi4432

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 22 2013

Posted February 23 2013 - 05:05 AM

For sound. The projector doesn't have sound input or output, so I'll use the tuner's Toslink optical out for sound - same setup for my PS3.

#10 of 12 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,806 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted February 23 2013 - 05:09 AM

And your PS3 goes to what?

#11 of 12 Jason Charlton

Jason Charlton

    Screenwriter

  • 2,781 posts
  • Join Date: May 16 2002
  • Real Name:Jason Charlton
  • LocationBaltimore, MD

Posted February 24 2013 - 12:37 AM

For sound. The projector doesn't have sound input or output, so I'll use the tuner's Toslink optical out for sound - same setup for my PS3.

Right, but you can't just duct tape the toslink cable to a bunch of speaker wire... Into what device are the optical cables from the tuner and your PS3 connected?

Are you new to the Home Theater Forum? Stop by the New Member Introductions area and introduce yourself! See you there!


#12 of 12 jedi4432

jedi4432

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 22 2013

Posted February 24 2013 - 05:09 AM

Sorry I didn't mention this - Forum Noob. I have a optical input soundbar already for home theater system. Otherwise, I'd have no sound when I play PS3 games or watch Blu-ray discs.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users