RF Cable with some local HD channels - attempting to connect to HD projector

Discussion in 'Displays' started by jedi4432, Feb 22, 2013.

  1. jedi4432

    jedi4432 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All, I have an HD Sanyo projector with the regular inputs (composite, component, S-Video, HDMI, etc). I don't want to subscribe to cable because I don't watch TV very much, but I do watch sports on occasion - mostly football and UFC fights. I know that I can connect the RF cable to an old VCR and get some really low picture quality on my projector, but I feel that defeats the purpose of my HD projector. I was wondering if there was something I could use to decode the RF cable's regular and HD channels into an HD output that would connect to my projector (preferably HDMI, but component would be OK too.) Thanks for your help, everyone!
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Yep, a HDTV tuner.
     
  3. Type A

    Type A HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    Real Name:
    Ty
    Welcome to the forum Luke :cool:
     
  4. jedi4432

    jedi4432 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the welcome. Guys, I can't seem to find a happy price point here. I find them at a really scary (from China) low cost of $60, and then I find others for $1100!!! My search keywords are hdtv tuner rf hdmi. Anyone know a good brand? An average price I should pay for what I'm looking for?
     
  5. jedi4432

    jedi4432 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this what we're talking about here? http://www.epvision.com/HDTVSTB/phd205LEmain.htm
     
  6. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Yes, although the 100 or "normal" 205 works as well. You don't have to have HDMI. You can use the DVI-HDMI. Depends how you are connecting this. The tuner straight to the projector...or is there an AVR?
     
  7. jedi4432

    jedi4432 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, but it looks like the 205LE is the cheapest of the 3 that does what I'm looking for. I'm just using HDMI because I already have a 25 ft HDMI cable ready for my PS3. No AVR - just going to connect it to the projector and do optical out. Thanks for all the help. Should get me going.
     
  8. Jason Charlton

    Jason Charlton Ambassador

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,518
    Likes Received:
    381
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Real Name:
    Jason Charlton
    Optical out to what?
     
  9. jedi4432

    jedi4432 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    For sound. The projector doesn't have sound input or output, so I'll use the tuner's Toslink optical out for sound - same setup for my PS3.
     
  10. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    And your PS3 goes to what?
     
  11. Jason Charlton

    Jason Charlton Ambassador

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,518
    Likes Received:
    381
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Real Name:
    Jason Charlton
    Right, but you can't just duct tape the toslink cable to a bunch of speaker wire... Into what device are the optical cables from the tuner and your PS3 connected?
     
  12. jedi4432

    jedi4432 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry I didn't mention this - Forum Noob. I have a optical input soundbar already for home theater system. Otherwise, I'd have no sound when I play PS3 games or watch Blu-ray discs.
     

Share This Page