Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Why does Safari randomly dump and reload all my tabs?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator



  • 14,994 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted March 07 2012 - 01:34 PM

Why does Safari 5 in Lion randomly dump all my tabs and reload? Very annoying. And has lost me email in process. I'm about ready to dump Safari. Lately, it's been maybe the worst browser I've used in years. But what to use instead? Chrome is OK, if a bit weird in the UI. It's in my dock, but I don't use it regularly. I gave up on Firefox a year ago. sigh.

#2 of 9 OFFLINE   Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator



  • 18,002 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted March 09 2012 - 02:51 AM

You are probably out of memory. I use chrome tho so hard to say.

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt

HTF Rules

Classified Sales Rules

UV Sales New Clarifications


#3 of 9 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator



  • 14,994 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted March 09 2012 - 09:26 AM

Is that a Safari thing? I don't think Chrome runs out of memory. This is with only five or six tabs open on a 4GB system and a 64bit OS. How does it run out of memory??? Maybe I better switch back to Chrome.

#4 of 9 OFFLINE   Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator



  • 18,002 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted March 10 2012 - 08:12 AM

Depends, what other apps are you running simultaneously? Install the iStat Pro free Widget and watch how your memory is mapped.

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt

HTF Rules

Classified Sales Rules

UV Sales New Clarifications


#5 of 9 OFFLINE   Greg_S_H

Greg_S_H

    Executive Producer



  • 14,999 posts
  • Join Date: May 09 2001
  • Real Name:Greg
  • LocationNorth Texas

Posted March 10 2012 - 08:48 AM

I don't use Safari, but I use a Safari alternative (on the iPhone), and this is caused by memory leaks, as Sam says. In my browser, there is a menu called Low Memory Conditions where you can turn off tab reloading. Check your options to see if "proper" Safari has that as well. Edit: here's a site with an instant solution, but it'll comes with the down side of disabling Java applets: http://www.webmaster...-in-safari-5-1/ That's from last October, so maybe there's a better solution now?

#6 of 9 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator



  • 14,994 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted March 10 2012 - 10:15 AM

Jon Siracusa on his podcast Hypercritical commented on this being a known annoyance

#7 of 9 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator



  • 14,994 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted March 10 2012 - 01:44 PM

Disabled Java. I never use it. We'll see if that helps. I've also now read Safari 5.2 fixes this problem. We'll see. Why didn't I use Chrome? Oh, I was using it full-time, but was decided to go for a more integrated system, particularly with bookmarks shared from desktop to iPHone. And I tried going Flash-less, which meant using Safari with the plug-in uninstalled. And Chrome's UI is a touch more odd than Safari's. (I still think Firefox had the best combo of UI with plug-ins.)

#8 of 9 OFFLINE   Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator



  • 18,002 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted March 11 2012 - 01:23 PM

Kill flash while you are at it and only run Flash under Chrome.

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt

HTF Rules

Classified Sales Rules

UV Sales New Clarifications


#9 of 9 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator



  • 14,994 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted March 11 2012 - 01:53 PM

I did six months ago. I reinstalled it last weekend. It was too much trouble having to juggle browsers. And the web on the desktop isn't usable for without Flash (le sigh)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users