Why does Safari randomly dump and reload all my tabs?

Discussion in 'Apple' started by DaveF, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,257
    Likes Received:
    1,301
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    Why does Safari 5 in Lion randomly dump all my tabs and reload? Very annoying. And has lost me email in process.


    I'm about ready to dump Safari. Lately, it's been maybe the worst browser I've used in years. But what to use instead? Chrome is OK, if a bit weird in the UI. It's in my dock, but I don't use it regularly. I gave up on Firefox a year ago.


    sigh.
     
  2. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    20,720
    Likes Received:
    1,827
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    You are probably out of memory. I use chrome tho so hard to say.
     
  3. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,257
    Likes Received:
    1,301
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    Is that a Safari thing? I don't think Chrome runs out of memory.


    This is with only five or six tabs open on a 4GB system and a 64bit OS. How does it run out of memory???


    Maybe I better switch back to Chrome.
     
  4. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    20,720
    Likes Received:
    1,827
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Depends, what other apps are you running simultaneously? Install the iStat Pro free Widget and watch how your memory is mapped.
     
  5. Greg_S_H

    Greg_S_H Executive Producer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    15,383
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    North Texas
    Real Name:
    Greg
    I don't use Safari, but I use a Safari alternative (on the iPhone), and this is caused by memory leaks, as Sam says. In my browser, there is a menu called Low Memory Conditions where you can turn off tab reloading. Check your options to see if "proper" Safari has that as well. Edit: here's a site with an instant solution, but it'll comes with the down side of disabling Java applets: http://www.webmaster-source.com/2011/10/05/how-to-turn-off-auto-reloading-tabs-in-safari-5-1/ That's from last October, so maybe there's a better solution now?
     
  6. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,257
    Likes Received:
    1,301
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    Jon Siracusa on his podcast Hypercritical commented on this being a known annoyance
     
  7. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,257
    Likes Received:
    1,301
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    Disabled Java. I never use it. We'll see if that helps.


    I've also now read Safari 5.2 fixes this problem. We'll see.

    Why didn't I use Chrome? Oh, I was using it full-time, but was decided to go for a more integrated system, particularly with bookmarks shared from desktop to iPHone. And I tried going Flash-less, which meant using Safari with the plug-in uninstalled. And Chrome's UI is a touch more odd than Safari's. (I still think Firefox had the best combo of UI with plug-ins.)
     
  8. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    20,720
    Likes Received:
    1,827
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Kill flash while you are at it and only run Flash under Chrome.
     
  9. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,257
    Likes Received:
    1,301
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    I did six months ago. I reinstalled it last weekend. It was too much trouble having to juggle browsers. And the web on the desktop isn't usable for without Flash (le sigh)
     

Share This Page