Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Can't get surround sound system to work on tv channels


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
89 replies to this topic

#1 of 90 OFFLINE   rizwan213

rizwan213

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: May 18 2011

Posted May 18 2011 - 08:42 PM

Samsung HT- C5500 , they're connected by hdmi and audio(red and white) the speakers work when i watch a movie but not when i try to use them for watching tv, why wont it work?




#2 of 90 OFFLINE   Joseph DeMartino

Joseph DeMartino

    Lead Actor



  • 8,303 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Joseph DeMartino
  • LocationFlorida

Posted May 19 2011 - 12:58 AM

Welcome to the forum!  http://static.hometh...um.com/imgrepo/


I've moved your thread to this area because it really isn't about speakers per se.  Now, before anyone can help you, we're going to need a little more information - specifically the make and model of all of your equipment, and how everything is connected.


What is your TV channel source - cable?  Satellite?  Roof antenna.  Need make and model of any box or DVR used for TV.


What is your movie source?  Blu-ray player?  DVD?  Media PC?  Again, make and model.


What is your audio source?  Receiver?  Separates?  Combo disc player and amp?  (All-in-one "Home theater in a box"?)

Finally, how is everything connected?  How is the audio signal getting from the movie player to the receiver or amp?  How is the TV audio getting there?  From the cable box via HDMI?

I'm not sure how or why you have both HDMI and two-channel analog (red/white) audio connections in use.

Once I have a better idea of how your system is set up, and I can try to figure out why you're not getting surround sound when you watch TV.

Regards,


Joe



#3 of 90 OFFLINE   Jason Charlton

Jason Charlton

    Screenwriter



  • 2,949 posts
  • Join Date: May 16 2002
  • Real Name:Jason Charlton
  • LocationBaltimore, MD

Posted May 19 2011 - 01:34 AM

If you have connected your TV source (satellite or cable box) to the Samsung using Red/White analog audio cables, then that explains why you don't get digital surround sound.  Analog stereo cables won't carry a 5.1 signal.  The best you can do with this is set the Samsung to use "Dolby ProLogic" decoding for that input.  It will simulate 5.1 from the stereo source.


However, according to the manual I found online, your Samsung does have one digital optical input (near the middle of the back panel - page 15).  If your satellite or cable box has a digital optical output, then you can simply get an optical (sometimes called TosLink) cable to connect the two devices instead of the Red/White RCA plugs.


Here's a nice one for pretty cheap, but you can find them pretty much anywhere, even Target and Wal-Mart.  Don't spend a lot, and avoid anything made by Monster - WAY overpriced.


The digital input will preserve any discrete digital 5.1 audio.


Keep in mind, however, that not ALL TV programming has surround sound audio, and many that do make little use of it.


Hope this helps.


Are you new to the Home Theater Forum? Stop by the New Member Introductions area and introduce yourself! See you there!


#4 of 90 OFFLINE   rizwan213

rizwan213

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: May 18 2011

Posted May 19 2011 - 08:44 AM

Ok so i dont have no cable or nothing ...  i have a dvd reciver fr the blu ray which includes all the inputs nd out puts Nd i have speakers wire connected with em ... Nd a red and white wire connect with tv only and hdmi ..

So thers still no Sound .. i mean they r is sound Only if i play a dvd but other than that when i have my regual tv channel on No sound play on the speakers?

Please help


#5 of 90 OFFLINE   Jason Charlton

Jason Charlton

    Screenwriter



  • 2,949 posts
  • Join Date: May 16 2002
  • Real Name:Jason Charlton
  • LocationBaltimore, MD

Posted May 19 2011 - 08:56 AM

When you want to listen to the audio from the TV, you need to select the "AUX" input on the Samsung.


Press the "Function" button on the remote (top right corner) and cycle through the inputs.  According to the manual, it should go "BD/DVD --> D. IN --> AUX --> ONLINE --> FM"


If setting it to AUX still gives no results, go into the audio setup for your TV and make sure that the audio output is not disabled.  If you have problems with this, just let us know the make and model number of the TV and we can try to find a manual online.


Are you new to the Home Theater Forum? Stop by the New Member Introductions area and introduce yourself! See you there!


#6 of 90 OFFLINE   rizwan213

rizwan213

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: May 18 2011

Posted May 19 2011 - 01:46 PM


Samsung PN50C450 50-Inch 720p Plasma HDTV 

thats my tv ... and i tired putting the red and white cable into my tv nd i did set it to aux. but nothing comes.


Please tell me if i need any other wire or cable ? 




#7 of 90 OFFLINE   Jason Charlton

Jason Charlton

    Screenwriter



  • 2,949 posts
  • Join Date: May 16 2002
  • Real Name:Jason Charlton
  • LocationBaltimore, MD

Posted May 20 2011 - 12:48 AM

Ah - looking at the manual for your TV (see page 10) I see that the Red/White RCA jacks are for audio INPUT only, not output.  There are two pairs of Red/White connections on the back of the TV, but they are next to the two sets of component video inputs.


The only audio OUTPUTS you have on the TV are either a digital optical cable (Toslink) or a single 3.5 mm -type jack which needs to split into stereo Red/White to connect to the Samsung surround sound unit.  This type of cable is not included, but there's a picture of it on page 10 of the manual.  You can find one of these cables just about anywhere - Target, Wal-Mart, RadioShack, etc.


Here's a summary of the connections you should have:

1) TV source into the screw-on ANT IN connection on the back of the TV.

2) HDMI cable from Samsung Surround sound unit to HDMI input on TV.

3) Digital optical cable from TV Digital Audio Out to Samsung Digital Audio In (Toslink)

        OR

    3.5 mm headphone jack to stereo RCA cable from TV Audio Out to Samsung Audio In (Red/White RCA connectors)


Again - you cannot connect Red/White cables to the back of the TV to get any audio OUT.  Hope this works.


Are you new to the Home Theater Forum? Stop by the New Member Introductions area and introduce yourself! See you there!


#8 of 90 OFFLINE   pankajsharma

pankajsharma

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 05 2012

Posted April 05 2012 - 12:46 AM

hi , My tv is Penasonic D25 LED and i have Sony DZ-310 Home theater which having no digital /optical input. but having hdmi output and ARC support.My TV is also having ARC Support. BUT both having different brand one(TV from peansonic) music system from Sony. So only HDMI with ARC not support 5.1 suppound Here i am explain my Connection. 1) I Connect my TATA SKY HD with HDMI from Penasonic D25 LED Viera. 2) I Connect my TV ARC HDMI port to Sony Home theater with HDMI Cable. I am getting good picture from tv .BUT I am just Getting 2.1 Channal sound from my SONY Home theater . my home theater not having digital or optical input port .It has component INPUT,Audio Input and Audio 3.5 MM JACK. Please help me how i can get 5.1 dolby digtal from my SONY home theater if seeing HD Channal which have DD Sound. I expand lot. please give me some cheap solution. Thanks @ Regards Pankaj

#9 of 90 OFFLINE   Hardik

Hardik

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: May 04 2012

Posted May 04 2012 - 12:43 AM

Hi, I have Digitrax TV 42 inches(CTF 4701)......... and Samsung Home theatre 5.1 connected with HDMI.... I have two connections in my TV for hdmi. 1. is connected to home theatre 2. is connected to HDMI splitter ... and that is connected to sky+hd box. I have no sound in home theatre wen sky is on...... I have sound wen a dvd is played.... Itried doing all setup which was mentioned in this forum..... PLease help me out...... Do i need to buy those red and white wire to connect or what? Reply will be Appreciated

#10 of 90 OFFLINE   Jason Charlton

Jason Charlton

    Screenwriter



  • 2,949 posts
  • Join Date: May 16 2002
  • Real Name:Jason Charlton
  • LocationBaltimore, MD

Posted May 04 2012 - 01:55 AM

Hardik,


Generally speaking, you need to connect the SkyHD box to the Samsung home theater system (not the TV) in order to hear surround sound.  Connecting the HDMI from the SkyHD box to the TV won't really help at all, unless both your TV and the Samsung support ARC (Audio Return Channel) and I can't find a manual online for your display, and you didn't mention the model number of the Samsung system.


Assuming ARC is not supported, here's what you should try in descending order of preference:


    [*] If the Samsung has an HDMI INPUT (not likely, as most all-in-ones lack video inputs) then connect the SkyHD box to this input and you're set. [*] If the Samsung has no HDMI inputs, but it does have a digital optical or digital coaxial INPUT, then you leave the SKYHD box connected to the TV with HDMI for video, but you will use a separate digital audio cable from the SkyHD box to the Samsung - use whichever connector type is common on both devices - there's no difference in audio quality between digital optical and digital coaxial. [*] If the Samsung has no digital audio inputs, but it does have analog stereo (Red/White RCA) inputs, then you will have to use analog stereo audio out from the SkyHD box (if it has it) and connect that to the Samsung. You will have to change surround modes on the Samsung to ProLogic II or some equivalent to create a simulated surround effect from the stereo signal.

If none of these options are available to you, then you're stuck using the TV speakers for the SkyHD source until you upgrade/replace the samsung unit with something that has additional inputs.


Since this is the "beginners" forum and we get this sort of confusion a lot, be sure you know the difference between an INPUT and an OUTPUT.  Just because a plug of the correct shape is on the device doesn't mean it works both ways.  Inputs should be clearly labeled as well as outputs.  Sorry if you already know this, but you'd be surprised at how many people don't realize that difference.


Good luck - hope you figure something out.


Are you new to the Home Theater Forum? Stop by the New Member Introductions area and introduce yourself! See you there!


#11 of 90 OFFLINE   sellke

sellke

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2012

Posted May 08 2012 - 07:43 AM

Please help. After my very old television finally gave up the ghost at the weekend, I treated myself to a new Panasonic TX-L42E5B LED television. I also wanted to experience surround sound when watching films on the television channels and so I was sold a Panasonic Home Cinema System SC-BTT270EB. I also purchased an HDMI monster cable 1200 ex and a fiber optic monster cable 250 dfo which the salesman said I would need. I have set everything up and can indeed get surround sound working when I use the Blue Ray player but cannot get surround sound if a watch something on the television. I have virgin cable television. I have found this an absolute nightmare as I am not at all techie and cannot work out what I have done incorrectly and what needs to go where. Any help would be really appreciated in the simplest terms possible! Thanks

#12 of 90 OFFLINE   Steve Tannehill

Steve Tannehill

    Producer



  • 5,525 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 06 1997
  • Real Name:Steve Tannehill
  • LocationDFW

Posted May 08 2012 - 08:15 AM

Hi Kerry, welcome to HTF! First, Monster cables are overpriced...you can get great cables for cheap at monoprice.com, or Amazon, or any number of places. According to Google, your TV has an optical out jack. You should run an optical digital cable from the TV to the Home Cinema System...although your TV may convert the sound to stereo when it passes optical digital, so surround sound may not be possible. It is also possible that the TV shows you are watching are not really in surround. Either that, or if your Virgin cable TV comes with a converter box, you could probably run an optical digital cable from it to your Home Cinema System. This would preserve 5.1 sound. Good luck!

#13 of 90 OFFLINE   Martino

Martino

    Supporting Actor



  • 635 posts
  • Join Date: May 05 1999
  • Real Name:Martin O.
  • LocationSanta Clara, CA

Posted May 08 2012 - 09:28 AM

Looked up your panasonic HTIB system - found the following line... http://homecinemarev...ay-home-cinema/ "With Viera Link allowing you to operate the Panasonic SCBTT270EBK via your Viera TV remote, no more looking for multiple remote controls. Additionally ARC (Audio Return Channel) allows you with an ARC compatible TV to enjoy TC sound via the Panasonic SCBTT270 via 1 HDMI connection making it simpler for you without having to have cables tangling up everywhere." Then I looked up your TV - and found it has the audio return channel - on Input 2.... http://www.thtdirect...-tx-l42e5b.html HDMI Input 4 (4 side) Support Feature Audio Return Channel (Input 2) -- So it looks like you can hook up your TV to your HTIB using an HDMI cable - using the Input 2 HDMI connection on the TV - and you should be able to get the audio return channel to send the audio signal from your TV back to your receiver - via an HDMI cable... You can try hooking your HDMI cable from Input 2 back to your receiver....

#14 of 90 OFFLINE   mmoon22385

mmoon22385

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: May 09 2012

Posted May 09 2012 - 07:11 AM

hi, im having the same problem but cant get it sorted out!! my tv is a samsung ps50qhdx/xeu and the home theatre system is sony dav-dz361w i had the system set up before with a scart cable and it was working fine...still is if i put the scart back in! trouble now is i have tracked hdmi cables in the wall problem is... the system works fine if i watch a dvd and put it on the hdmi chanel when i watch tv i cant get the sound to work through the system! i have tryed everything i could think off! when the system is connected through scart it works, im at my wits end lol :confused::o:confused:gona rip it off the wall shortly haha any help would b much apreciated thanks Michael

#15 of 90 OFFLINE   hayz31

hayz31

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: May 12 2012

Posted May 12 2012 - 06:05 AM

hi all ive got an lg cinema system with 5.1 speakers 300w i want to have my television which is also lg running through the speakers can you tell me what cables i need please i dont have a hdmi cable socket on the back of the system just input sockets

#16 of 90 OFFLINE   Adie

Adie

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 24 2012

Posted June 24 2012 - 04:25 AM

how do i get all my surround sound speakers to work as only some of them are working but they all work on a sound teas its a samsung ht-d4500 home entertainment 5.1 surround

#17 of 90 OFFLINE   Wamse

Wamse

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 11 2012

Posted August 11 2012 - 12:44 PM

I got a Blue-Ray Home Cinema System Ht-BD2 and a Samsung ps43d455a2W. I got home cinema working when playing a disk, but I dont what im suppose to do, to get my surround sound working when watching Tv or more importent, when using my AppleTv. The Home cinema is connectet with HDMI to the TV. I have trying setting extern Speakers on the tv's menu, but then I have no sound at all.:( Thanks.

#18 of 90 OFFLINE   Mukesh Singh

Mukesh Singh

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 24 2012

Posted September 24 2012 - 11:32 PM

I am having 1- Sony Bravia BX32 TV, 2- Philips HTS5520 home theater system and 3- a normal set top box provided by local cable provider(DEN)(which has Loop out, Cable In, and Audio Video out(Yellow, Red, White) points at the back). How do I get digital surround sound from the TV programs? Please Help.

#19 of 90 OFFLINE   Jason Charlton

Jason Charlton

    Screenwriter



  • 2,949 posts
  • Join Date: May 16 2002
  • Real Name:Jason Charlton
  • LocationBaltimore, MD

Posted September 25 2012 - 01:42 AM

The Phillips system you have has no video inputs, but does have both a digital coaxial audio input (a single RCA jack) and analog stereo audio inputs (Red/White RCA jacks).  Your cable box lacks digital coaxial output, so you can only ut


You should connect the yellow video output on the cable box to the composite video input on the back of the TV.


You should connect the Red/White audio outputs on the cable box to the Red/White audio inputs (Aux.) on the Phillips.


To hear the sound through the Phillips system, you will need to press the "Audio Source" button near the top left of the remote repeatedly until the "Aux." source is selected.


Since the source is simple stereo, you may only hear sound from the front left/right speakers at first.  To activate Dolby ProLogic II simulated surround sound, press the button labeled "Surr" near the middle of the remote control until "Multi-Channel/DPLII" is selected.  This will provide the best sound for your particular setup.


Are you new to the Home Theater Forum? Stop by the New Member Introductions area and introduce yourself! See you there!


#20 of 90 OFFLINE   pankajsharma

pankajsharma

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 05 2012

Posted September 26 2012 - 12:19 AM

hi , My tv is Penasonic D25 LED and i have Sony DZ-310 Home theater which having no digital /optical input. but having hdmi output and ARC support.My TV is also having ARC Support. BUT both having different brand one(TV from peansonic) music system from Sony. So only HDMI with ARC not support 5.1 suppound Here i am explain my Connection. 1) I Connect my TATA SKY HD with HDMI from Penasonic D25 LED Viera. 2) I Connect my TV ARC HDMI port to Sony Home theater with HDMI Cable. I am getting good picture from tv .BUT I am just Getting 2.1 Channal sound from my SONY Home theater . my home theater not having digital or optical input port .It has component INPUT,Audio Input and Audio 3.5 MM JACK. Please help me how i can get 5.1 dolby digtal from my SONY home theater if seeing HD Channal which have DD Sound. I expand lot. please give me some cheap solution. Thanks @ Regards Pankaj




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users