Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Install Win 7 Home Upgrade with Win XP OEM media?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Executive Producer



  • 14,337 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted January 04 2011 - 07:07 AM

I'm installing Win 7 on a computer (an iMac in Parallels, to be specific). But I'm two releases behind and no longer savvy about Windows. Will the following work:


I have Win XP Home OEM installed on Computer A. I want to uninstall XP from Computer A, and then use XP OEM disc to validate and install Win 7 Home Premium Upgrade on Computer B; preferably without first installing XP. Can I do this?



Perhaps more simply, does Win 7 Home upgrade need to see an XP installation, or does it just need to see install media to operate? And does an OEM copy qualify? (MS website seems to say it does.)


Thanks!



#2 of 9 OFFLINE   Hanson

Hanson

    Producer



  • 4,461 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 01 1998
  • Real Name:Hanson

Posted January 05 2011 - 05:31 AM

Yes, the XP OEM disk will validate the Win 7 upgrade disk.  The upgrade disk has the full version of Win 7.  It can either do an in place upgrade or a fresh install.  You can wipe the XP install during the Win 7 installation by deleting the partition.


BTW, the upgrade versions cost more than the OEM because they are retail only.  So you could have bought the OEM Win 7 online for less than the upgrade disk since you are doing a fresh install anyway.


#3 of 9 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Executive Producer



  • 14,337 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted January 05 2011 - 10:16 AM

After using an OEM Windows, I prefer not to do that again. If I hadn't bought Win XP OEM last time, I could simply transfer the license to another computer and not even buy Win 7. And OEM versions are more annoying when you change partitions and deal with BootCamp / Virtualization setups.


This time, I'm buying the full version on purpose.



#4 of 9 OFFLINE   Keith Plucker

Keith Plucker

    Screenwriter



  • 1,051 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 1999
  • LocationSacramento

Posted January 05 2011 - 11:53 AM

The Supersite for Windows details how you can use a Windows 7 Upgrade disc to do a clean install of the OS:

http://www.winsupers...rade-media.aspx


From what I have read, none of the methods they describe to do this require and XP disc at all.


-KeithP


As far as I'm concerned, it's a damned shame that a field as potentially dynamic and vital as journalism should be overrun with dullards, bums, and hacks, hag-ridden with myopia, apathy, and complacence, and generally stuck in a bog of stagnant mediocrity. - Hunter S. Thompson, 1958, from cover letter he wrote for a newspaper job.


#5 of 9 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Executive Producer



  • 14,337 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted January 05 2011 - 12:21 PM

Thanks. A coworker also told me about that Posted Image Look forward to reading that. Probably buy Win 7 Home this weekend.



#6 of 9 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Executive Producer



  • 14,337 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted January 06 2011 - 01:40 AM

After reading the article on WinSuperSite and starting to read the applicable article on double-installing Vista, I'm struck again at how Microsoft simply makes things difficult for the user to its own corporate benefit. Good gravy. It seems I can clean install Win7 Upgrade, but there are two different methods and who knows which will work until you're waist deep in 'gators.


So I've ordered the Win 7 Home Premium Uprade 3-license for Home, for $125; only a $15 premium over a single-user license so I'll try it on my computer too.



#7 of 9 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Executive Producer



  • 14,337 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted January 15 2011 - 05:28 AM

Installing Windows 7 in Parallels on 24" iMac.


Got WinSuperSite articles up for reference.


Fingers crossed.



#8 of 9 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Executive Producer



  • 14,337 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted January 15 2011 - 08:58 AM

Long, somewhat tedious process, but the double-install method worked.


I installed 64-bit version in Parallels. Now I'm second-guessing myself. Is there any reason to think the 32-bit version would be better or faster, running Parallels on a Mac?



#9 of 9 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Executive Producer



  • 14,337 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted January 16 2011 - 03:56 AM

So Windows 7 Home Premium (Upgrade) successfully installed in Parallels Desktop 6 on a 24" iMac (early 2010 model, pre-27" refresh).


Some initial observations: Parallels 6 / Windows 7 / iMac is much faster to startup and to do a full restart than Parallels 4 / Windows XP / MBP 15". The iMac is two years newer than my MBP, but it's not *that* much faster. I suspect the speed difference is a combination of Parallels and Windows being improved. I'm probably going to remove Parallels / BootCamp / Windows XP from my MBP completely. But if I see a need for Windows, I won't hesitate to upgrade my system to Parallels 6 and Windows Home.