What's new
World Wide Stereo

Parametric Eq needed (1 Viewer)

Patri858

Agent
Real Name
Patrick
Hi everyone,

I have one pb10-nsd and just placed an order for a second one. With the backorder it should be here in a few weeks. I have never had two subs before but I know how to hook it up and everything. The problem I think I am going to run into is big peaks and nulls that I am already seeing with one sub. I am planning on stacking them.

The EQ's i have looked at are the Beringer feedback destroyer which has gotten some good reviews and the Velodyne sms-1. Im pretty new to HT but would be willing to learn how to manually set one up.

I also see that the back of the Beringer only has the XLR inputs? what is that and how would I plug in two subs?

The REAL question is; Do you think the Beringer would be too complicated for a newbie to master or should I go with the easier auto cal of the sms-1?

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

Patri858

Agent
Real Name
Patrick
Yeah I was thinking about that but I only paid about $800 for my subs and I probably wont have that kind of money for a few months which will be outside of there preorder price. So the price for the sub eq would be the same as the subs themselves. Do you think this would be overkill. The Velodyne is half the price but I was wondering what people thought about it before I laid down about $400 on an EQ. I will keep the SVS in mind because I know anything coming from that company has got to be good.

I guess my max budget would be about $400 for now and then see what kind of reviews the SVS gets when it starts to ship.

Any other opinions?

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
The BFD also has 1/4" mono phono plugs as well. All you need is a set of RCA to 1/4" adapters from Radio Shack for about $4 each. I'm only using the right channel of my BFD so you can use it in stereo for 2 subs or use a Y adapter like me to send the signal to 2 subs.