-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Does any HD player offer upconversion over Component?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
20 replies to this topic

#1 of 21 OFFLINE   Bleddyn Williams

Bleddyn Williams

    Supporting Actor

  • 975 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Bleddyn Williams

Posted May 17 2007 - 04:26 AM

A quick question, just like the heading. I keep reading the virtues of upconverting SD DVDs, but I currently only have component output and it seems that upconversion of 480 material is only available on HDMI.

Is this true? Or is there some player I haven't read about yet?

Any help welcome.

#2 of 21 OFFLINE   Rhoq

Rhoq

    Supporting Actor

  • 734 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 01 2004

Posted May 17 2007 - 05:21 AM

At the moment, HDCP is a requirement for upconverting DVD. This is why it's only available via an HDMI/DVI connection.

#3 of 21 OFFLINE   Cees Alons

Cees Alons

    Executive Producer

  • 18,639 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 31 1997
  • Real Name:Cees Alons

Posted May 17 2007 - 05:35 AM

Upconversion on component is prohibited if any form of copy-protection is present on the DVD. It is on most: MacroVision.

But some releases don't have that and will be upconverted over component as well. It's a minority, unfortunately (often documentaries).

If you hapen to have a monitor with HDCP support (e.g. several new DELLs), a HDMI->DVI cable can do the trick for you though, on all DVDs.


Cees

#4 of 21 OFFLINE   Bleddyn Williams

Bleddyn Williams

    Supporting Actor

  • 975 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Bleddyn Williams

Posted May 17 2007 - 05:58 AM

Thanks guys.

So if I were to take one of my DVDs with macrovision and simply use a shareware program to remove the macrovision without doing anything else, that would produce an upscalable copy?

#5 of 21 OFFLINE   Michael TLV

Michael TLV

    Screenwriter

  • 2,909 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 16 2000
  • Real Name:Michael Chen
  • LocationCalgary, Alberta

Posted May 17 2007 - 07:14 AM

Greetings

Yes ... a burned disc will not have the copy protection and will play back upconverted.

Regards
Michael @ The Laser Video Experience
THX Video Systems Instructor/ISF Instructor
Lion A/V Consultants Network - TLVEXP.com


#6 of 21 OFFLINE   Bleddyn Williams

Bleddyn Williams

    Supporting Actor

  • 975 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Bleddyn Williams

Posted May 17 2007 - 08:05 AM

Fascinating. Thank you!

#7 of 21 OFFLINE   Rhoq

Rhoq

    Supporting Actor

  • 734 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 01 2004

Posted May 17 2007 - 08:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael TLV
Greetings

Yes ... a burned disc will not have the copy protection and will play back upconverted.

Regards

Hopefully you won't be compressing these films to fit onto a single layered DVD +/- R otherwise I don't see you benefiting from the upconversion at all.

#8 of 21 OFFLINE   Michael TLV

Michael TLV

    Screenwriter

  • 2,909 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 16 2000
  • Real Name:Michael Chen
  • LocationCalgary, Alberta

Posted May 17 2007 - 10:48 AM

Greetings

One always has the option not to squeeze ...

Use dual layer or 2 discs.

Regards
Michael @ The Laser Video Experience
THX Video Systems Instructor/ISF Instructor
Lion A/V Consultants Network - TLVEXP.com


#9 of 21 OFFLINE   JackKay

JackKay

    Second Unit

  • 461 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 27 2004

Posted May 20 2007 - 01:58 AM

Question, since the new 360 has an HDMI out I assume it will upconvert, yet unless I missed it I don't see it mentioned in their ads.
"I believe in censorship. After all, I made a fortune out of it." -Mae West

#10 of 21 OFFLINE   Scooter

Scooter

    Screenwriter

  • 1,511 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 03 1998
  • Real Name:Scooter
  • LocationDFW Area Texas

Posted May 21 2007 - 02:15 AM

I ordered this player:

http://www.circuitci....oductDetail.do

I read on vcdhelp that it will do upconversion through the component and no macrovision inhibitions. I'll let y'all know once I get it installed.

#11 of 21 OFFLINE   Edwin-S

Edwin-S

    Producer

  • 5,581 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 20 2000

Posted May 21 2007 - 08:34 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael TLV
Greetings

Yes ... a burned disc will not have the copy protection and will play back upconverted.

Regards

I tried this on a couple of my discs using anyDVD. The discs burned fine, but they would not run on my HD A1. They always came up as unrecognized discs. Maybe there are other people who have had better luck with doing the procedure that you described, but it has basically been an unsuccessful experiment for me. It pisses me off that I had to try such a workaround on discs that I legitimately purchased. So now I have a DVD burner which is essentially a door stop.
"You bring a horse for me?" "Looks like......looks like we're shy of one horse." "No.......You brought two too many."

#12 of 21 OFFLINE   Dave H

Dave H

    Producer

  • 5,276 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 13 2000

Posted May 22 2007 - 08:24 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edwin-S
I tried this on a couple of my discs using anyDVD. The discs burned fine, but they would not run on my HD A1. They always came up as unrecognized discs. Maybe there are other people who have had better luck with doing the procedure that you described, but it has basically been an unsuccessful experiment for me. It pisses me off that I had to try such a workaround on discs that I legitimately purchased. So now I have a DVD burner which is essentially a door stop.

Have your tried another brand of disc? RiDATA have worked well for me.

#13 of 21 OFFLINE   Edwin-S

Edwin-S

    Producer

  • 5,581 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 20 2000

Posted May 22 2007 - 03:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H
Have your tried another brand of disc? RiDATA have worked well for me.

No. I'll check the stores for that brand, but the brand name is unfamiliar to me. I've never seen it in my area. The other reason I stopped doing it was due to the brutal burn time thru USB 1.0 to an external drive. After burning a few coasters I had to question what I was doing. I was spending time and money trying to gain access to something that I legally should have a right to by reason that I have purchased the disc.
"You bring a horse for me?" "Looks like......looks like we're shy of one horse." "No.......You brought two too many."

#14 of 21 OFFLINE   Douglas Monce

Douglas Monce

    Producer

  • 5,514 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 16 2006

Posted May 23 2007 - 06:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edwin-S
No. I'll check the stores for that brand, but the brand name is unfamiliar to me. I've never seen it in my area. The other reason I stopped doing it was due to the brutal burn time thru USB 1.0 to an external drive. After burning a few coasters I had to question what I was doing. I was spending time and money trying to gain access to something that I legally should have a right to by reason that I have purchased the disc.

I haven't had any trouble playing a burned disk on my A1. RiDATA manufactures burnable discs for just about every brand name ie, Memorex, TDK, Sony, etc.
"I'm in great shape, for the shape I'm in."
Bob Hope in The Ghostbreakers

#15 of 21 OFFLINE   Edwin-S

Edwin-S

    Producer

  • 5,581 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 20 2000

Posted May 27 2007 - 05:15 PM

Well, I was finally able to look at an upconverted disc through the component outputs on the PS3. It is strange. The PS3 windowboxes the image when set to normal. Is windowboxing of the image a byproduct of upconversion? Or is it only a byproduct on the PS3? Regarding the image. It looked good but nowhere near a proper HD transfer.
"You bring a horse for me?" "Looks like......looks like we're shy of one horse." "No.......You brought two too many."

#16 of 21 OFFLINE   Chris S

Chris S

    Screenwriter

  • 2,522 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 09 2000
  • Real Name:Chris S

Posted May 28 2007 - 03:29 PM

Out of curiosity, under what law or governing body makes it illegal to upconvert video over an analog signal? I can't think of a good reason why this should be illegal for hardware manufactures to implement.
DVD & Blu-ray - It's all about the movies!

#17 of 21 OFFLINE   Sanjay Gupta

Sanjay Gupta

    Supporting Actor

  • 754 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted May 28 2007 - 06:08 PM

It's not illegal as in by a decree of law, rather it is in contravention of licensing agreements.
Sanjay
Member since July - August 1997

#18 of 21 OFFLINE   GlennH

GlennH

    Screenwriter

  • 2,125 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 28 1998

Posted June 06 2007 - 03:15 AM

Yes, we have the ridiculous situation where the manufacturers are not implementing the Image Contraint Token (ICT), thus allowing the HD resolution via component video on HD DVD or Blu-ray discs, yet we're not allowed to upconvert DVDs to the same higher resolution, which would still be inferior to HD discs.

#19 of 21 OFFLINE   GregK

GregK

    Supporting Actor

  • 960 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 22 2000

Posted June 06 2007 - 06:04 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edwin-S
Well, I was finally able to look at an upconverted disc through the component outputs on the PS3. It is strange. The PS3 windowboxes the image when set to normal. Is windowboxing of the image a byproduct of upconversion? Or is it only a byproduct on the PS3?


Hmmm... be sure to double check your PS3 upconversion options. It should be set to "normal". One of the three upconversion modes upconverts the DVD to 960p within a 1080 image, therefore causing a windowbox effect. The "Normal" mode upscales 16x9 discs to 1080 and pillarboxes 4x3 material in 1080. The second upconversion mode ("full") will upconvert & stretch and 4x3 material to 1080, which is great for the rare discs that are 16x9 enhanced, but not flagged as 16x9.

#20 of 21 OFFLINE   Ric Easton

Ric Easton

    Screenwriter

  • 2,814 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 06 2001

Posted June 22 2007 - 10:29 AM

Quote:
I ordered this player:

http://www.circuitci....oductDetail.do

I read on vcdhelp that it will do upconversion through the component and no macrovision inhibitions. I'll let y'all know once I get it installed.



Um, Scooter this thread is about HD players... but, I have been dying to find a DVD player that will do upconversion thru component. So, if yer still checking this thread, lemme know!


Back to Blu-ray, DVD, LD, Tivo, Satellite and Other Playback Devices



Forum Nav Content I Follow