Does any HD player offer upconversion over Component?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Bleddyn Williams, May 17, 2007.

  1. Bleddyn Williams

    Bleddyn Williams Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Bleddyn Williams
    A quick question, just like the heading. I keep reading the virtues of upconverting SD DVDs, but I currently only have component output and it seems that upconversion of 480 material is only available on HDMI.

    Is this true? Or is there some player I haven't read about yet?

    Any help welcome.
     
  2. Rhoq

    Rhoq Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    0
    At the moment, HDCP is a requirement for upconverting DVD. This is why it's only available via an HDMI/DVI connection.
     
  3. Cees Alons

    Cees Alons Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    19,316
    Likes Received:
    289
    Real Name:
    Cees Alons
    Upconversion on component is prohibited if any form of copy-protection is present on the DVD. It is on most: MacroVision.

    But some releases don't have that and will be upconverted over component as well. It's a minority, unfortunately (often documentaries).

    If you hapen to have a monitor with HDCP support (e.g. several new DELLs), a HDMI->DVI cable can do the trick for you though, on all DVDs.


    Cees
     
  4. Bleddyn Williams

    Bleddyn Williams Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Bleddyn Williams
    Thanks guys.

    So if I were to take one of my DVDs with macrovision and simply use a shareware program to remove the macrovision without doing anything else, that would produce an upscalable copy?
     
  5. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    Yes ... a burned disc will not have the copy protection and will play back upconverted.

    Regards
     
  6. Bleddyn Williams

    Bleddyn Williams Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Bleddyn Williams
    Fascinating. Thank you!
     
  7. Rhoq

    Rhoq Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hopefully you won't be compressing these films to fit onto a single layered DVD +/- R otherwise I don't see you benefiting from the upconversion at all.
     
  8. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    One always has the option not to squeeze ...

    Use dual layer or 2 discs.

    Regards
     
  9. JackKay

    JackKay Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    0
    Question, since the new 360 has an HDMI out I assume it will upconvert, yet unless I missed it I don't see it mentioned in their ads.
     
  10. Scooter

    Scooter Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 1998
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    DFW Area Texas
    Real Name:
    Scooter
  11. Edwin-S

    Edwin-S Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    5,969
    Likes Received:
    282

    I tried this on a couple of my discs using anyDVD. The discs burned fine, but they would not run on my HD A1. They always came up as unrecognized discs. Maybe there are other people who have had better luck with doing the procedure that you described, but it has basically been an unsuccessful experiment for me. It pisses me off that I had to try such a workaround on discs that I legitimately purchased. So now I have a DVD burner which is essentially a door stop.
     
  12. Dave H

    Dave H Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,522
    Likes Received:
    169

    Have your tried another brand of disc? RiDATA have worked well for me.
     
  13. Edwin-S

    Edwin-S Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    5,969
    Likes Received:
    282

    No. I'll check the stores for that brand, but the brand name is unfamiliar to me. I've never seen it in my area. The other reason I stopped doing it was due to the brutal burn time thru USB 1.0 to an external drive. After burning a few coasters I had to question what I was doing. I was spending time and money trying to gain access to something that I legally should have a right to by reason that I have purchased the disc.
     
  14. Douglas Monce

    Douglas Monce Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes Received:
    12

    I haven't had any trouble playing a burned disk on my A1. RiDATA manufactures burnable discs for just about every brand name ie, Memorex, TDK, Sony, etc.
     
  15. Edwin-S

    Edwin-S Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    5,969
    Likes Received:
    282
    Well, I was finally able to look at an upconverted disc through the component outputs on the PS3. It is strange. The PS3 windowboxes the image when set to normal. Is windowboxing of the image a byproduct of upconversion? Or is it only a byproduct on the PS3? Regarding the image. It looked good but nowhere near a proper HD transfer.
     
  16. Chris S

    Chris S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    2,537
    Likes Received:
    7
    Real Name:
    Chris S
    Out of curiosity, under what law or governing body makes it illegal to upconvert video over an analog signal? I can't think of a good reason why this should be illegal for hardware manufactures to implement.
     
  17. Sanjay Gupta

    Sanjay Gupta Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Sanjay Gupta
    It's not illegal as in by a decree of law, rather it is in contravention of licensing agreements.
     
  18. GlennH

    GlennH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 1998
    Messages:
    2,132
    Likes Received:
    7
    Real Name:
    Glenn
    Yes, we have the ridiculous situation where the manufacturers are not implementing the Image Contraint Token (ICT), thus allowing the HD resolution via component video on HD DVD or Blu-ray discs, yet we're not allowed to upconvert DVDs to the same higher resolution, which would still be inferior to HD discs.
     
  19. GregK

    GregK Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    198


    Hmmm... be sure to double check your PS3 upconversion options. It should be set to "normal". One of the three upconversion modes upconverts the DVD to 960p within a 1080 image, therefore causing a windowbox effect. The "Normal" mode upscales 16x9 discs to 1080 and pillarboxes 4x3 material in 1080. The second upconversion mode ("full") will upconvert & stretch and 4x3 material to 1080, which is great for the rare discs that are 16x9 enhanced, but not flagged as 16x9.
     
  20. Ric Easton

    Ric Easton Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,818
    Likes Received:
    77

    Um, Scooter this thread is about HD players... but, I have been dying to find a DVD player that will do upconversion thru component. So, if yer still checking this thread, lemme know!
     

Share This Page