Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

help: DVD in Black & White?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 Chris M

Chris M

    Second Unit

  • 488 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 15 2000

Posted November 30 2006 - 01:59 PM

Okay, here's an interesting situation, I'm hoping someone has seen something similar.
I have a '99 Toshiba TW57H81 CRT RPTV when I try to view DVD the content is in B&W. I've tried sources from the Toshiba DVD Player, Xbox 360 & PS2. When I view the 360 menu's they're all in color, but as soon as a DVD goes in, it goes B&W.
I've tried both inputs on the TV, I've removed my Component switcher from the equation, everything appears normal, just can't view DVD in Color.
This is new, everything worked fine until the last couple days.

Any suggestions? Please?

#2 of 6 Allan Jayne

Allan Jayne

    Screenwriter

  • 2,406 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 01 1998

Posted November 30 2006 - 04:28 PM

You mean it happened suddenly with no changes to any of the cabling?

Try unplugging and replugging each and every cable. This cleans and improves each connection. Just one plug, one end, at a time to be sure you put the plug back in the same place.

All three of the cables (green Y, blue Pb, red Pr) for component video must be in place for component video to work properly.

Video hints:
http://members.aol.c...ynejr/video.htm
.

#3 of 6 Mike Knapp

Mike Knapp

    Supporting Actor

  • 637 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 04 1997
  • Real Name:Mike

Posted December 01 2006 - 12:33 AM

First make sure you are not watching Casablanca. Posted Image

Second, this sounds like a component cable issue. One of the cables is not making contact.

Try what Allan suggested and if that does not work try a new component cable.

Good luck.

Mike

#4 of 6 Allan Jayne

Allan Jayne

    Screenwriter

  • 2,406 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 01 1998

Posted December 01 2006 - 03:32 AM

Oh, by the way, do not connect a green jack to a yellow jack except for experiments or testing.

The green output jack of a DVD player, all by itself, delivers a black and white picture in full detail.

And also, most TV's have the input jacks in groups such as for Video 1, Video 2, etc. If the component jacks in a group are in use, the yellow jack and S-video jack, if any, should be empty and vice versa. Otherwise unpredictable things may happen. Use a different group for S-video, a different group for composite, if needed.
.

#5 of 6 Chris M

Chris M

    Second Unit

  • 488 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 15 2000

Posted December 01 2006 - 02:20 PM

From the DVD player to the TV via S-vid works fine, just tested it. I changed component cables as well.
The thing I find REALLY weird is the Xbox 360 menu's and even video's from media center work perfectly, but as soon as I play a DVD (even the DVD menu's) it's all B&W.
I switched between PS2, 360 and DVD Player/Recorder and whenever a DVD is in, it's in B&W.

Could there be something in my my TV interferring with the DVD Signal, but not any other signal? XBox 360, HDTV From Bell 9200, S-Video input, all work perfectly, just DVD through Component connectors is B&W.

I also removed all S-video and Composite connectors from the TV. All that's connected to it is cable (which is inactive) and 2 sets of component cables, one for Bell 9200 HD-PVR and one for: Xbox 360, PS2, DVD Player/Recorder.

#6 of 6 Chris M

Chris M

    Second Unit

  • 488 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 15 2000

Posted December 02 2006 - 04:33 AM

I just tried my PS2 and it was B&W even with games. I'm wondering if somehow the TV is converting all 480i & 480p to B&W through component since S-Vid is in color? Is that possible?

Does the 360 output 480 for DVD's instead of upconverting to 1080 while games and the menu is in 1080?

It's the only thing I can think of.

If so what would cause this and would there be a fix?

Thanks Posted Image