Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Wiring additional rooms for sound


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 of 21 OFFLINE   MarcusDiddle

MarcusDiddle

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 69 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 2004

Posted September 18 2006 - 06:27 AM

Not sure if I'm posting in the proper area. If not, feel free to move it where it belongs!

Here's what I'm wanting to do. I've got a home theater area already wired and functional located in one half of my basement. Receiver is Sony STR-DE885. The other half of my basement is pre-wired for speakers, I just need a little help getting them functioning properly.

Here's a rendering of my basement, with new speaker locations marked:

Posted Image

Four speakers total. Not concerned with fronts/rears, just want two wired up as LEFT and two as RIGHT as I'll only be pumping music into that room.

I also purchased a multi-room speaker selector:

Posted Image
Posted Image

Would like to have the four speakers in the room hooked up together as "one room selection". Taking ohms and impedance into account, and assuming 8ohm speakers will be used, what would be the best way to wire up these speakers? Series or parallel? Not quite sure what I'm doing here, and don't want to fry my receiver.

Also, where on my receiver do I connect the multi-room selector? The "B" set of posts? Then just switch to A/B on the receiver when I want to manually select other rooms? Sorry for all the questions, just kind of new at doing multi-room off one receiver.

#2 of 21 OFFLINE   Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Producer



  • 5,960 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 1999
  • Real Name:Wayne
  • LocationKaty, TX

Posted September 18 2006 - 08:39 AM

No reason why you can’t wire up the four pool table room speakers with the multiswitch. It can be connected to your receiver’s “B” terminals. Regards, Wayne A. Pflughaupt
My Equipment List
“A nice mid-fi system,” according to an audiophile acquaintance.

My Tech / DIY Articles and Reviews

#3 of 21 OFFLINE   homthtr

homthtr

    Supporting Actor



  • 519 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 05 2006

Posted September 19 2006 - 05:20 AM

If I'm reading the specs correctly on your amp STR-DE885, it doesn't have a speaker B, so you will have to bring your Front Left and Right into your speaker selector. Then Output 1 or A to your surround room front speakers. Then 2 and 3 or B and C for the other two pair of speakers that are located in the other room. You will have to change the surround to stereo for full Left/right when using the other room and change back to surround when just using the home theater room.

#4 of 21 OFFLINE   MarcusDiddle

MarcusDiddle

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 69 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 2004

Posted September 19 2006 - 07:12 AM

No, I've definitely got B speaker-set. A/B button is right on the front of the receiver. What I don't have is a "2nd Room" output. I think that was exclusive to the STR-DE985 (a step up from my receiver).

#5 of 21 OFFLINE   homthtr

homthtr

    Supporting Actor



  • 519 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 05 2006

Posted September 19 2006 - 02:47 PM

Ok then just hook the b speakers to the input on your switch and you will use the a and b out of the speaker switch to the other 2 pair in the other room. you won't use the output from c and d. Still when running the other room change your surround to "stereo" so you get all information to the left and right channels and switch back to surround when just using the surround rooom. It would be nice to have a 2 zone receiver instead of the one that you currently have, then you could listen to something different than the other room, ie you could be watching a DVD movie in the surround room and listen to Cable/Sat music in the other room, but that would require a different amp.

#6 of 21 OFFLINE   MarcusDiddle

MarcusDiddle

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 69 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 2004

Posted September 24 2006 - 11:29 AM

Ok, I've got everything wired up and working. Thanks for all the info! Just one question. Why is the volume in my second room so much lower than in my main room? When watching tv, my volume is normally set anywhere from 30-40. When I switch over to my second room, I've got to crank it up over 50 to hear it well. Any ideas why the difference in volume?

#7 of 21 OFFLINE   Stephen Williamson

Stephen Williamson

    Auditioning



  • 8 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2006

Posted September 24 2006 - 04:53 PM

How have you wired your 2 left/2 right speakers in the new room from your switch?

#8 of 21 OFFLINE   Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Producer



  • 5,960 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 1999
  • Real Name:Wayne
  • LocationKaty, TX

Posted September 24 2006 - 04:58 PM

Some speakers aren’t as efficient as others. IOW, they require more power (watts) to play at the same volume as more efficient speakers. Regards, Wayne A. Pflughaupt

My Equipment List
“A nice mid-fi system,” according to an audiophile acquaintance.

My Tech / DIY Articles and Reviews

#9 of 21 OFFLINE   MarcusDiddle

MarcusDiddle

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 69 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 2004

Posted September 24 2006 - 11:24 PM

I wired them in series, 2 for the left channel, and 2 for the right channel. They are 8ohm speakers. My receiver can handle a min. load of 8ohms, so I had to go series instead of parallel. Or do you think I could get away with parallel wiring? It's my understanding that most receivers can handle a 4ohm load as long as you aren't cranking the volume for hours on end.

#10 of 21 OFFLINE   homthtr

homthtr

    Supporting Actor



  • 519 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 05 2006

Posted September 25 2006 - 04:14 PM

If you have the speaker selector why did you wire them in Series? Are you not using your speaker selector?

#11 of 21 OFFLINE   MarcusDiddle

MarcusDiddle

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 69 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 2004

Posted September 25 2006 - 11:16 PM

Yes, I'm using the selector. It is a four-room selector, with two speakers per room. I've wired my speakers in series because I wanted to connect four speakers up to one room selection. I could have wired two speakers to one room selection, and the other two to another room selection, but I've got three other rooms in the house that I want to wire up to the selector.

Was going over this with a friend and drew up a diagram of how I've got everything now:

Posted Image

#12 of 21 OFFLINE   Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Producer



  • 5,960 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 1999
  • Real Name:Wayne
  • LocationKaty, TX

Posted September 26 2006 - 03:11 AM

The series wiring is probably what’s doing it. Those speaker selectors are loaded up with resistors to compensate for the additional load as it is. I can’t imagine wiring up in series on top of that doing anything good. Regards, Wayne A. Pflughaupt
My Equipment List
“A nice mid-fi system,” according to an audiophile acquaintance.

My Tech / DIY Articles and Reviews

#13 of 21 OFFLINE   MarcusDiddle

MarcusDiddle

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 69 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 2004

Posted September 26 2006 - 03:23 AM

I'll try switching over to parallel wiring and see if my receiver heats up at all.

#14 of 21 OFFLINE   Stephen Williamson

Stephen Williamson

    Auditioning



  • 8 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2006

Posted September 26 2006 - 09:48 AM

I'm not familiar with that brand of speaker selector, but isn't it impedance matched so that it cannot opverload the amplifier?

#15 of 21 OFFLINE   MarcusDiddle

MarcusDiddle

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 69 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 2004

Posted September 26 2006 - 09:59 AM

No idea! That's why I came here for help with all this! Posted Image

#16 of 21 OFFLINE   Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Producer



  • 5,960 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 1999
  • Real Name:Wayne
  • LocationKaty, TX

Posted September 26 2006 - 10:35 AM

I’m sure it is – that’s what they do, after all. Posted Image I think the mystery factor is the volume control. Is it possible to use one that can control four speakers at once?

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

My Equipment List
“A nice mid-fi system,” according to an audiophile acquaintance.

My Tech / DIY Articles and Reviews

#17 of 21 OFFLINE   MarcusDiddle

MarcusDiddle

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 69 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 2004

Posted September 27 2006 - 01:53 AM

So you're saying I can go with parallel wiring and not worry about overloading my amp? Also, I am controlling four speakers with the one volume control, but the control is really only built for controlling two speakers (left and right).

#18 of 21 OFFLINE   Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Producer



  • 5,960 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 1999
  • Real Name:Wayne
  • LocationKaty, TX

Posted September 28 2006 - 03:40 PM

I honestly don’t know. I can’t say that I’ve ever seen anyone try to double up two sets of speakers on a single set of terminals of a speaker selector. There might be an easy to figure it out. You can try hooking them up parallel and taking an ohm reading at the selector switch’s inputs. If the reading is within the tolerances of your receiver, you’re in good shape. Regards, Wayne A. Pflughaupt

My Equipment List
“A nice mid-fi system,” according to an audiophile acquaintance.

My Tech / DIY Articles and Reviews

#19 of 21 OFFLINE   homthtr

homthtr

    Supporting Actor



  • 519 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 05 2006

Posted September 29 2006 - 12:41 AM

Is the Volume Control also Labeled as Impedance Matching? If you are using the Selector then a Non-Impedance Volume control should be used. You will get a lower volume if it's wired the way you have it in you Series picture. You have 16 ohms resistance instead of 8. Expect less Volume.

#20 of 21 OFFLINE   MarcusDiddle

MarcusDiddle

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 69 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 2004

Posted September 29 2006 - 01:59 AM

Here's the product page for the switch and the volume control:

http://www.hometecha...ages/electr.asp

Unfortunately, it doesn't give too many details about the products themselves and whether they are impedance-matching. I'll have to check the packaging when I get home.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users