What's new

Newbie needs TV advise (1 Viewer)

BrianTwig

Second Unit
I am a newbie and know virtually nothing about TV's, new technology, features, functions, etc... Last time I bought a TV was in 1997.

The one thing I know is that I will not buy a rear projection TV under any circumstances. I just can not stand them.

I have a budget of $2,000 +- a few bucks.

With the size of the room it will be in and the seating distance, I need at least 42". Over 50" and the budget is too small. So I have been looking at the following and am seeking advise, experience with, and comments on the following.

50" Vizio Plasma HD Monitor model P50HDM.
http://www.vizioce.com/site/products...ct_p50hdm.html

42" Vizio HDTV Plasma Model P42HDTV10A
http://www.samsclub.com/shopping/nav...=5&item=338729

There are a variety of Phillips 42" Plasmas that meet my budget. Such as the PF5321D, and 42PF7320A to list a couple.

How about the HP PL4260N HDTV plasma?

The TV will be used primarily for regular TV viewing. Not a big movie guy. Obviously some movies will be viewed on it from a DVD and the occasional VHS. But it going to be primarily regular TV viewing.

Thanks for your help and advise. I really appreciate it.

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member
Brian, RPTVs have changed vastly since 1997. High-definition images make a serious difference. So do not be so quick as to rule them out.

BrianTwig

Second Unit
Thanks Jack. I have been out in the stores looking at TVs for quite a while now, but not with serious intentions as I can wait a while. Don't need one "now" but will in the near to not so distant future. The RPTVs are just not for me or my eyes.

Gregg Loewen

Founder, Professional Video Alliance
Insider
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gregg Loewen
so you want to buy a marginal panel vs a great RPTV (DLP or LCD) ?

Arthur S

Senior HTF Member
Brian