-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Anyone looking forward to The Simpsons: Hit & Run?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
45 replies to this topic

#21 of 46 JamesHl

JamesHl

    Supporting Actor

  • 813 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2003

Posted September 17 2003 - 03:01 AM

Yeah, that would stop me from buying it right there, I don't have my xbox hooked up with analog audio cables. Perhaps I can go to the local blockbuster and check this out firsthand, because if it weren't for that I would most like to get the xbox version.

#22 of 46 Joseph Young

Joseph Young

    Screenwriter

  • 1,355 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 2001

Posted September 17 2003 - 06:29 AM

The game 'Sky Odyssey' for the PS2 had the same problem. No audio if you are hooked up with anything other than analog audio. I sold it right back.

#23 of 46 JamesHl

JamesHl

    Supporting Actor

  • 813 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2003

Posted September 17 2003 - 07:34 AM

PS2's support of the optical out is a lot sketchier, though. My stereo tends to lose sync with it sometimes, whereas it has never lost sync with the xbox or anything else.

#24 of 46 Jay Mitchosky

Jay Mitchosky

    Producer

  • 3,740 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 06 1998

Posted September 18 2003 - 01:28 AM

Quote:
The Xbox version could not output audio if you had it hooked up to your reciever via the digital audio cable.

How is that possible? Isn't the responsibility for handling the 1s and 0s with the hardware? Through the DAC to the analog outputs or piped straight out through the optic cable.
"The computer had attained consciousness, only to reject it, claiming it was too unstable an operating system."

#25 of 46 JustinCleveland

JustinCleveland

    Screenwriter

  • 2,059 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 23 2002
  • Real Name:Justin Cleveland
  • LocationMadison, WI

Posted September 18 2003 - 05:45 AM

That's the same thing I was thinking, Jay...

It would be like if a certain DVD didn't output DTS over an optical cable. That doesn't make sense, when it's only a signal going over a cable when the transmission method shouldn't matter.

#26 of 46 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Executive Producer

  • 15,860 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted September 18 2003 - 05:52 AM

I bought my copy today and have my xbox connected optically. Will report back later.

Sam

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#27 of 46 GlenHaag

GlenHaag

    Supporting Actor

  • 973 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 19 2002

Posted September 18 2003 - 06:25 AM

There are a few PS2 games that don't work over the Optical cable... don't ask me how.

I believe Parappa the Rapper 2 is one of them.

Glen

#28 of 46 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Executive Producer

  • 15,860 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted September 18 2003 - 11:41 AM

I had the same problem with fantavision on the PS2. Havent gotten home yet =)

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#29 of 46 Dave F

Dave F

    Screenwriter

  • 2,891 posts
  • Join Date: May 15 1999

Posted September 18 2003 - 12:05 PM

My Xbox is hooked up with both optical and RCA audio outputs. Simpsons Hit & Run plays fine over both.

-Dave
DVD List

#30 of 46 Jeffrey Noel

Jeffrey Noel

    Screenwriter

  • 1,541 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 11 2001

Posted September 18 2003 - 01:16 PM

So Dave, how's the game?
God bless!
jeffrey noel

As we slide down the banister of life, may the splinters never point the wrong way.

#31 of 46 Dave F

Dave F

    Screenwriter

  • 2,891 posts
  • Join Date: May 15 1999

Posted September 18 2003 - 01:44 PM

Kinda boring, so far. Posted Image I just played for about 1 1/2 hours, but nothing really "fun" has happened so far. It is structed like GTAIII, but has a very linear feel so far. I just got to the second area though, so hopefully things will open up more.

I'm getting a strange visual artifact though - when the screen has a lot of detail, the image momentarily shifts when I rotate. For example, if the camera was rotating clockwise, the bottom half of the screen will pause for a split-second while the top continues to rotate. I've seen this in PC games when running on an PC that wasn't up to par, but only once on a console (the 720p mode of Tony Hawk 4).

-Dave
DVD List

#32 of 46 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Executive Producer

  • 15,860 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted September 19 2003 - 01:16 AM

Agreed, plays fine on my optical line. I apparently like the game more than Dave does, I think its awesome so far and I'm still on the 'Homer' missions.

Definitly worth a buy IMO.

Sam

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#33 of 46 TonyD

TonyD

    Executive Producer

  • 16,033 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted September 19 2003 - 10:03 AM

iv'e seen the scene skipping thing too.

so far the only other problem i have is control of the cars driving.
it seems too loose. lots of wide turns going around corners.
facebook.com/whotony

#34 of 46 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Executive Producer

  • 15,860 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted September 20 2003 - 08:21 AM

biggest complaint i have is the user control of the camera is both awkward and limited.

Sam

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#35 of 46 TonyD

TonyD

    Executive Producer

  • 16,033 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted September 20 2003 - 09:21 AM

i'm not to sure i like the missions for bart. too many race missions.

the homer ones were fun tho'.
facebook.com/whotony

#36 of 46 James Lee

James Lee

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 196 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 06 2001

Posted October 05 2003 - 05:55 PM

Can anyone with the Xbox version confirm whether or not you can play it in 16:9 widescreen?

I bought the PS2 version, which can't be played widescreen and I would consider trading it in for the Xbox version if it plays in widescreen.

#37 of 46 dave_brogli

dave_brogli

    Screenwriter

  • 1,022 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 30 2002

Posted October 06 2003 - 01:52 AM

I really this game. Ive almost got 100% on the first two levels.
Not to many complaints. I also saw the skip thing and its no big deal, at least to me.

4 out of 5

#38 of 46 Joe Reed

Joe Reed

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 123 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 17 2002

Posted October 06 2003 - 07:49 AM

I am playing it on a panny 50" lcd, and it is 480p widescreen, and I am seeing some wierd graphically problems, as well, but I think it is one of the best games of the year Posted Image I am up to the lisa missions.

#39 of 46 JamesHl

JamesHl

    Supporting Actor

  • 813 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2003

Posted October 06 2003 - 04:58 PM

There are a couple of bugs and the camera is horrible sometimes, but it's by far the best simpsons game yet.

#40 of 46 DeathStar1

DeathStar1

    Producer

  • 3,291 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 28 2001

Posted October 26 2003 - 01:01 AM

Finally picked this game up, and I have to agree, it is addicting to play. The controls are great, the graphics are great, and the exploring is interesting.

This is what Simpsons Road Rage should havebeen, rather than just a straight out driving game. Although, I hope that Konami still releases a port of the original arcade game with a brand new beat em up game included...