What's new

Infocus X1 (2 Viewers)

steve_mr

Grip
I am new to HT. The Infocus folks advised that the X1 is a native 4:3. I'd like to get a 92" diag. screen 16:9

Will there be a problem with this when playing DVD's?
HDTV?

Appreciate the feedback from all you seasoned vets out there.

Also, can someone please explain the difference between 480i and 480p and how it relates to DVD players, X-boxes, etc.

Muchas gracias!

Dennis Gardner

Stunt Coordinator
The X-1 is native 4:3 which means that no matter what format you watch your widescreen DVD in, there will always be some black bars projected on top and bottom of the image.
Just like a 4:3 direct view TV.

If you plan on only watching HDTV and wide DVDs you might look for a native 16:9 pj.

Many users of the X-1 have built 4:3 screens once they find out how the pj handles cable or satellite feeds. My digital cable looks simply awesome on my X-1, nearly as good as DVD.
Since there isn't much offered out in the heartland for HDTV yet my TV is strictly 4:3.

I watch on a 92 X 59 4:3 screen. When I view widescreen DVDs, there is around a foot of darkened space above and below. This isn't a problem for me, but some have used different methods of masking this area to help with contrast.

480i is the interlaced mode of resolution used in TVs for years, while 480p (p for progressive scan)
uses a line doubling chip to improve the picture.

The X-1 handles either mode well, using different inputs for each.

Parker Clack

Schizophrenic Man
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Parker
Dennis:

Do you have Time Warner Cable? I was thinking over converting my standard cable to Digital but haven't decided yet. Does the Digital box have progressive outputs off of it or do you have to use S Video or composite?

My regular cable feed looks like crap through my X1 and I know it is due to the fact that I have such a bad signal. I look forward to seeing Digital cable on my setup at some point.

BTW, what are you using for a screen?

Parker