What's new

DVD Recorder advice please, spend my money... (1 Viewer)

Doug Taylor

Auditioning
I'm buying a 40" Sony direct view XBR and want to add a DVD Recorder. Which do you recommend? I'm considering the Philips DVD R985 or the Panasonic DMR HS2.

Thank you

DBT

MikeRP

Supporting Actor
I just bought the Pioneer Elite 7000. I have 30 days to take it back and I'm really studying its capabilities.

So, maybe we can help each other out.

I did some research on e-bay with owners there and all are very satisfied.

So.............

Marvin

Screenwriter
Real Name
Marvin
Aren't there also format/compatibility issues with DVD recorders to consider? DVD-R, DVD+R, DVD-RAM, whatever.

Doug Taylor

Auditioning
I haven't actually thought through all the format issues, although I know they exist. The Philips and Pioneer have the widest format range and, for that reason, I'm leaning toward them.

With the quality issues raised in this thread it makes me think the Pioneer is probably the way to go.

Thanks to all and keep the advice coming.

DBT

Doug Taylor

Auditioning
Thanks again for all the advice. At this point, I think I've eliminated the Philips and will choose between the other two.

DBT

Ernest

Supporting Actor
I have two DVD-R / DVD-RAM recorders, a Samsung R3000 and a Panasonic E30 and are very happy with both of them. As far as compatability goes DVD-R is most compatable with DVD players. Whatever manufacturer you decide on make sure the recorder records to DVD-R. DVD-R's are also the least expensive blank media with costs ranging from as low as $0.69 to $4.00. On average I spend $1.00 per blank.

The recorders are reliable it is the DVD-R blanks that are unreliable. I have done alot or recording from converting my VHS, SVHS and laserdisc library to DVD-R and from DirecTV. I recently tried a new brand of R's and the Panasonic hated them. Luckliy they record fine on the Samsung.