-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

What does DVD layer chage look like?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
12 replies to this topic

#1 of 13 BrianGC

BrianGC

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 104 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted March 26 2003 - 11:01 AM

Hello,
What does the layer change look like when playing a DVD? I recently got a Pan. CP72 and am just curious. I haven't used it much yet so don't think I've ever seen one.

BrianGC

#2 of 13 Grant B

Grant B

    Producer

  • 3,213 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 29 2000

Posted March 26 2003 - 11:55 AM

You can see the picture freeze for a second, I always mention it to my wife but she never notices.
"Whatever it is, I'm against it!" G. Marx

Sony TAE/TAP/TAN(2)9000ES;DVP-CX860 DVP-CX777ES
Sony CDP-CX270 CDP-CX355 CDP-CX270 CDP-CX355
Sony S-TS 700ES XPR32450Pioneer Elite CLD 79 KEFs (5) Q75s & 20B Subwoofer

#3 of 13 NickSo

NickSo

    Producer

  • 4,274 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2000

Posted March 26 2003 - 12:21 PM

Yeah, the picture freezes and the audio goes silent for like a second

#4 of 13 Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown

    Producer

  • 5,713 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 03 2000

Posted March 26 2003 - 01:38 PM

I am always curious about this. If I was a motion picture dude responsible for transferring a picture to DVD, and if I knew there was going to be a layer change, I would (if possible...) orchestrate things so that the layer change occurred in a "quiet" portion of the film. But this isn't what I've seen... Posted Image
If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ...

#5 of 13 Ken Seeber

Ken Seeber

    Supporting Actor

  • 788 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 05 1999

Posted March 26 2003 - 04:46 PM

From what I've read, there's a very narrow window of opportunity for the layer change. Obviously this depends on how many other extras there are on a particular DVD, the video and audio bitrate and so forth. But once the extras and audio tracks have been decided upon, there's only so much wiggle room, maybe a minute or two one way or another, where the layer change can go.

#6 of 13 Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown

    Producer

  • 5,713 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 03 2000

Posted March 26 2003 - 07:13 PM

Ken- I hear you, but I would think it's kind of like a hard drive: I can move stuff around to in front of the movie or behind it it, until I can get the layer change to be where I want it. But maybe not...
If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ...

#7 of 13 Carl Johnson

Carl Johnson

    Screenwriter

  • 1,921 posts
  • Join Date: May 06 1999

Posted March 26 2003 - 07:45 PM

Layer changes became seamless when I started using an X Box as my primary DVD player. If Microsoft can do it in a $200 machine why can't everyone else?

#8 of 13 Sach

Sach

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 70 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 25 2002

Posted March 27 2003 - 02:22 AM

The Denon 3800 does it seamlessly like Microsoft.

#9 of 13 Charles J P

Charles J P

    Screenwriter

  • 2,028 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2000

Posted March 27 2003 - 02:36 AM

The X-Box has a hard drive. So you can either put a hard drive in every DVD player just to handle layer changes or do like Denon and put a large buffer (not an HD, but some type of memory) in there. What I dont understand, is with the cheap prices of memory, (RAM, memory cards for digital cameras, small "pocket drives" that are little more than a USB plug with some memory in there and are smaller than a pack of gum, etc) how come all DVD players dont have a large buffer. Actually, my bigger beef (not to thread-jack) is how come there is exactly 1 DVD player on the market that scales non-anamorphic content to 16:9 (the Panasonic RP-91)?!

#10 of 13 Mark Hedges

Mark Hedges

    Second Unit

  • 442 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2003

Posted March 27 2003 - 02:47 AM

Don't forget that if Microsoft was selling the Xbox to make a profit on the hardware alone it would probably cost $400-$500. So no wonder it does some things better than a standalone $200 DVD player.

Mark

#11 of 13 ManW_TheUncool

ManW_TheUncool

    Producer

  • 5,817 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 18 2001
  • Real Name:ManW

Posted March 27 2003 - 04:03 AM

This may be besides the point, but surely the Xbox doesn't use its hard drive to buffer DVD playback. I'd think it has plenty of RAM available for that purpose.

RE: players that scale, well, there are more than just one, but none of them are particularly great for one reason or another. If only Philips would address this issue for the 963sa...

_Man_

Just another amateur learning to paint w/ "the light of the world".

"Whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things..." (St. Paul)

#12 of 13 Charles J P

Charles J P

    Screenwriter

  • 2,028 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2000

Posted March 27 2003 - 04:05 AM

What other players do this, and what are the "issues" that would make them not great. Whats wrong with the 963sa? Does it have the ability to do this but it isnt implemented?

EDIT: I'm loosly following the 60 page thread over at AVS (as much as one can follow a 60 page thread when they only found it after it was already 40 some pages long) and I saw your name over there. What is it about this player that's creating all the problems. It sounds like a great hardware package but Philips botched the software/implementation.

#13 of 13 ManW_TheUncool

ManW_TheUncool

    Producer

  • 5,817 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 18 2001
  • Real Name:ManW

Posted March 27 2003 - 04:44 AM

Charles,

Check this thread about the 963sa for the scaling issue:

http://www.avsforum.....ighlight=963sa

The 963sa has a few other issues, including the vertical shift problem, the angle icon problem and bass management issue for 2-channel CD/SACD. If they only fix the scaling and vertical shift, then this would indeed be an awesome all-around player (minus the DVD-A of course).

For other players that can scale, see this current thread:

http://www.hometheat....hreadid=132384

Sorry for the thread-jacking...

_Man_

Just another amateur learning to paint w/ "the light of the world".

"Whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things..." (St. Paul)