What does DVD layer chage look like?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by BrianGC, Mar 26, 2003.

  1. BrianGC

    BrianGC Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    What does the layer change look like when playing a DVD? I recently got a Pan. CP72 and am just curious. I haven't used it much yet so don't think I've ever seen one.

    BrianGC
     
  2. Grant B

    Grant B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2000
    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can see the picture freeze for a second, I always mention it to my wife but she never notices.
     
  3. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    Yeah, the picture freezes and the audio goes silent for like a second
     
  4. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am always curious about this. If I was a motion picture dude responsible for transferring a picture to DVD, and if I knew there was going to be a layer change, I would (if possible...) orchestrate things so that the layer change occurred in a "quiet" portion of the film. But this isn't what I've seen... [​IMG]
     
  5. Ken Seeber

    Ken Seeber Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 1999
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    2
    From what I've read, there's a very narrow window of opportunity for the layer change. Obviously this depends on how many other extras there are on a particular DVD, the video and audio bitrate and so forth. But once the extras and audio tracks have been decided upon, there's only so much wiggle room, maybe a minute or two one way or another, where the layer change can go.
     
  6. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ken- I hear you, but I would think it's kind of like a hard drive: I can move stuff around to in front of the movie or behind it it, until I can get the layer change to be where I want it. But maybe not...
     
  7. Carl Johnson

    Carl Johnson Cinematographer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    May 6, 1999
    Messages:
    2,259
    Likes Received:
    23
    Real Name:
    Carl III
    Layer changes became seamless when I started using an X Box as my primary DVD player. If Microsoft can do it in a $200 machine why can't everyone else?
     
  8. Sach

    Sach Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Denon 3800 does it seamlessly like Microsoft.
     
  9. Charles J P

    Charles J P Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2000
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Real Name:
    CJ Paul
    The X-Box has a hard drive. So you can either put a hard drive in every DVD player just to handle layer changes or do like Denon and put a large buffer (not an HD, but some type of memory) in there. What I dont understand, is with the cheap prices of memory, (RAM, memory cards for digital cameras, small "pocket drives" that are little more than a USB plug with some memory in there and are smaller than a pack of gum, etc) how come all DVD players dont have a large buffer. Actually, my bigger beef (not to thread-jack) is how come there is exactly 1 DVD player on the market that scales non-anamorphic content to 16:9 (the Panasonic RP-91)?!
     
  10. Mark Hedges

    Mark Hedges Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't forget that if Microsoft was selling the Xbox to make a profit on the hardware alone it would probably cost $400-$500. So no wonder it does some things better than a standalone $200 DVD player.

    Mark
     
  11. ManW_TheUncool

    ManW_TheUncool Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    5,962
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    The BK
    Real Name:
    ManW
    This may be besides the point, but surely the Xbox doesn't use its hard drive to buffer DVD playback. I'd think it has plenty of RAM available for that purpose.

    RE: players that scale, well, there are more than just one, but none of them are particularly great for one reason or another. If only Philips would address this issue for the 963sa...

    _Man_
     
  12. Charles J P

    Charles J P Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2000
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Real Name:
    CJ Paul
    What other players do this, and what are the "issues" that would make them not great. Whats wrong with the 963sa? Does it have the ability to do this but it isnt implemented?

    EDIT: I'm loosly following the 60 page thread over at AVS (as much as one can follow a 60 page thread when they only found it after it was already 40 some pages long) and I saw your name over there. What is it about this player that's creating all the problems. It sounds like a great hardware package but Philips botched the software/implementation.
     
  13. ManW_TheUncool

    ManW_TheUncool Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    5,962
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    The BK
    Real Name:
    ManW
    Charles,

    Check this thread about the 963sa for the scaling issue:

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...ighlight=963sa

    The 963sa has a few other issues, including the vertical shift problem, the angle icon problem and bass management issue for 2-channel CD/SACD. If they only fix the scaling and vertical shift, then this would indeed be an awesome all-around player (minus the DVD-A of course).

    For other players that can scale, see this current thread:

    http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...hreadid=132384

    Sorry for the thread-jacking...

    _Man_
     

Share This Page