What's new

Struggling, please help (1 Viewer)

usmcmos0844

Auditioning
Real Name
chris
I'm by no means an expert at home theater so I would appreciate some help here. I have an Onkyo TX-NR808 receiver and a Panasonic Blue-ray home theater system. The model is SC-BT300. I hooked up the Panasonic blu-ray player to my receiver via an HDMI cable. I connected the blu-ray player speakers straight into the receiver hoping it would work. The only speaker plugged straight into the Panasonic player is the sub-woofer. The connections on all these speaker cables had a special connector built strictly for the Panasonic player I believe. I went out and bought speaker cable to replace the provided cables so I could plug into the back of the Onkyo. To better explain it here is a picture of the back of the SC-BT300 As you can see only the sub-woofer is hooked up to the back and the rest is straight into the Onkyo receiver as seen here. When I am trying to use the blu-ray player only sound comes out of the sub-woofer but nothing from the speakers. I'm sorry if this is a completely retarted thread but I would appreciate anyone's help.

Ronald Epstein

Founder
Owner
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ronald Epstein
Okay, scratching my head a little here.

HDMI cable carries both your audio and video signal.

So, the only connection you need to make from the Blu-ray

player to the receiver is the HDMI cable. Blu-ray HDMI out

to receiver HDMI in.

I don't know why you are plugging speakers directly from

the Blu-ray player.

However, from the receiver, is where you plug in your speakers.

All you need is standard speaker cable. Be certain your L and R

front go to the appropriate speaker terminals.

If you have center and rear speakers, be certain the speaker

wire gets screwed into the proper terminals. All the terminals

are labeled on the back of the receiver to assist.

Does this help any?

usmcmos0844

Auditioning
Real Name
chris