What's new

Rear speakers wont play sound - Samsung surround system (1 Viewer)

ChrisPage

Auditioning
Real Name
Chris Page
Hi guys,

Just picked up a Samsung HT-Z220 surround sound system: http://www.samsung.com/baltic/consumer/tv-audio-video/home-theater/home-theater/HT-Z220R/XEE/index.idx?pagetype=prd_detail

I've got zero experience with anything like this before but it was a huge bargain at only £69.99 (down from £169.99 because it was a display piece) so I grabbed it.

I bought an HDMI cable and an optical cable, everything is set up great. When I play DVD's in the system, all the speakers including the rear work great, its perfect, but when I just watch TV via Sky+ or play the XBox, PS3 or Wii, the rear speakers dont do anything, neither does the center speaker.

Basically, it works great with DVD's but anything else and there is no sound, so I know all the speakers work, but I'm guessing I've got it hooked up wrong?

I have both the HDMI and optical cables hooked up directly between my TV and the reciever and my Sky+, XBox, PS3 and Wii plugged directly into the various outlets on the back of the TV.

Any help would be great!
Thanks all,
Chris

CB750

Screenwriter
Real Name
Bill
You are going to want to use the Samsung receiver as the hub of your system, All of your inputs should be made to the receiver first if at all possible and with the highest quality connections. The only output to your TV should be your HDMI cable.

ChrisPage

Auditioning
Real Name
Chris Page
Really? So plug the PS3, Wii, XBox and Sky directly into the receiver? I asked the dude in the shop if I should do this and he rolled his eyes at me like I was a moron /img/vbsmilies/htf/frown.gif

Joseph DeMartino

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joseph DeMartino
Originally Posted by ChrisPage /forum/thread/300030/rear-speakers-wont-play-sound-samsung-surround-system#post_3684386